Families logo

7 Resources All Single Moms Need Right Now

Grants, Scholarships, Financial Aid, Freebies, Discounts & MORE for Single Moms and Low-income Families

By Chic CopyPublished 3 years ago 5 min read
1
Grants, Scholarships, Financial Aid & MORE!

All single moms need this guide to free and discounted services. Not some single moms. Not only single moms taller than 5’4″. ALL.

Mommin’ ain’t easy.

Single-mommin’ really ain’t easy. Can I get an “Amen”?!

It’s tough enough transitioning from sharing parental duties to tackling the task solo. When you add the (oftentimes substantial) financial difference to the mix, the struggle can get real, real quick. I get it! Really, I do.

I went from being a SAHM for 7 years to single-parenting in a different state than my kids’ dad. Not only did I assume financial responsibility for my children, seemingly overnight, but with sole custody, I also took on physical custody… as in all day. every day. I know there are so many of you fellow mamas who can fully, wholly, completely relate! It’s hella difficult to squeeze your entire adult life into the parameters of school hours.

Single moms of littles 5 and under, I have mad respect for you. That’s next-level difficult. Please never let anyone undermine your challenges! Also, I’m gonna say it, there is no shame in having a 13-year-old babysitter. Your babysitter doesn’t need to drive and doesn’t need to have a high school diploma or college degree. Can we please normalize that?

Everything else from the 90s is back on trend (tie-dye, camo print, bucket hats, Adidas Superstar sneaks). Our parents were leaving us home alone by age 10. The babysitter can be 13. Millennial Moms, back me up on this! *end rant*

7 Resources All Single Moms Need Right Now

Pressing on! Here’s the list, in all it’s shining glory. There’s even one for dual-income households, too! I hope these programs benefit you like many of them did for me. The more you know, right?

Scholarships for Gym Memberships – Did you know the YMCA offers an income-based scholarship program? That’s right. You can get your gym membership covered (fully or partially) at any of the roughly 2,700 Y’s in the U.S. Your local branch will have paper copy applications available at the front desk and there’s also a digital link available through their website. The application requires your most recent tax return and/or 4 consecutive paystubs, the names and ages of everyone living in your household, and any other extenuating circumstances. Note: the application must be renewed annually.

Little League Call Up Grant – Our local league shared this link on their Facebook page and now I get to share it with you! The Little League Call Up Grant is based on financial need and requires proof of need (Medicaid, WIC, etc.) The grant covers registration fees for your athlete whether they’re playing t-ball, baseball, softball, or coed. The fee is sent directly to your league so you don’t have to follow up once you apply!

Single Mom Stimulus Grant – This $500 grant from Emma Johnson of “Wealthy Single Mommy” is dispersed to a different mama each month! The application is wildly simple and user-friendly. There are only 2 qualifications: 1. You’re a single mom. 2. You need cash ASAP. It’ll take you less than 15 minutes to apply. You’ve got nothing to lose!

Reduced Internet Service – Comcast is really stepping up with this one. If you’re eligible for any public assistance program (Medicaid, SNAP, Housing Assistance, SSI, National School Lunch Program, etc.) you may qualify for discounted internet from Comcast for just $9.95/mo. The application is simple and intuitive, and checking up on your approval status is just as easy as clicking the link to apply. Once you’re an Internet Essentials customer, you have the option to purchase a desktop computer or laptop for just $150.

50% Off Amazon Prime Membership – Is there any mom on earth not using Amazon Prime? I literally don’t know how I’d survive without it. My issue with going to the store is this: If I go inside the store (grocery, retail, or otherwise), I end up buying lots of things I want instead of just what I need. Y’all feel me? *steps off soapbox* Now back to this Prime deal! If you have an EBT or Medicaid card, you’re eligible for an Amazon Prime subscription for just $5.99/mo versus the standard $12.99/mo. This includes free 2-day shipping AND the Prime video streaming service. Bonus savings hack: replace Hulu, Netflix, and Disney+ with a financially savvy, equally awesome Prime Video account.

Free Museum Entrance – At over 500 museums nationwide, EBT cardholders can receive free or reduced-price entry through a program called Museums for All. To capitalize on this discount, all you need to do is bring your EBT card with you to the museum when you go! You’ll find a list of participating museums on their site. This is a great resource during spring break, summer vacation, and especially during the colder winter months when you can’t get outside!

Kids Bowl Free – I’ve been utilizing the Kids Bowl Free program since my littles were big enough to hold a bowling ball. This freebie is not income-based! Honestly, you don’t even have to be a parent. Grandparents and caregivers can enroll kids, too. By signing up, your kiddo can bowl 2 games per day, for free, every single day of the summer. Just double-check KBF’s dates for summer, it’s based on the school year and differs depending on where you live.

Now that you know…

If you’re familiar with any other financial aid opportunities for single moms, please drop the info in a comment below! I would love to expand this list to best accommodate everyone. Do you know someone who could benefit from this post? Please feel free to share it!

I can’t even begin to tell you how many times I’ve said, “I wish I would have known that before…” We can prevent our fellow mamas from feeling that same way and help each other navigate this life season.

You know how it is – you don’t know until you know. Let’s bridge that gap! After all, the more you know, the more you grow.

PS – Looking for a cheap, easy, simple + delicious weeknight dinner? I’ve got you covered with fail-proof chicken pot pie you’re family is sure to love!

single
1

About the Creator

Chic Copy

HI! I'm Jess. I am a single mom, parenting two little people, and am currently in the first year of my graduate program, working towards my Master of Arts in Counseling. I hope you enjoy reading my pieces as much as I enjoy writing them!

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.