Families logo

5 Ways to Help Depression as a Mom

#PostPartumSurvivor

By Emmie MayberryPublished 6 years ago 3 min read
Like

I will never ever regret having my beautiful daughter. When my boyfriend and I found out we were pregnant on the night of our friend's wedding, we were ecstatic. We were ready to have our family, and we were ready for all in entailed... Or so we had thought.

I was not prepared for the emotional rollercoaster of post-partum depression. I have a history of depression and anxiety, but I didn't think PP would affect me. Until that day my daughter came into this world, at first I thought it was because I was so exhausted from giving birth but I had something entirely new coming to me.

Immediately after my daughter was born my boyfriend and I both went back to work, and thankfully my best friend offered to watch my daughter full time, so now that I haven't worked in a month, it's like I'm still so new to my daughter's world and life.

I have had a great support system, and my best friend has given me some pointers, mind you this won't cure it. There isn't a cure for it, but these are things that have helped me now that I'm no longer working.

1. Get yourself AND your child/children on a schedule.

Wake up at the same time everyday, and do something for you before your babies wake up. Sit down and have coffee and plan your day, do some yoga, or just listen to music. Whatever helps you decompress and realize what you need to do. Go to bed the same time everyday, eat at the same times so you don't forget, because in order to take care of your children you need to take care of YOU and YOUR body.

2. Clean one room a day.

Being a mom is overwhelming in itself, on top of having to keep the house clean and it can become too much to bear. So, what I do is pick one room the same room on the same day of every week and do it. It is one less stress, and when you have a clean home, it makes you feel so much better, but don't overwhelm yourself trying to do everything because nothing will get done. Take a deep breath, put your beautiful little human down for a nap, put on some music, and just get going. You will feel accomplished, and it'll make your life a little more organized.

3. Communicate.

I know we all know this is an important part of a relationship, but after you have a baby it really is more important that ever. If you are feeling overwhelmed or sad, just talk. If you feel you aren't being heard or understood, think how you can reword it do your partner, mother, friend, will understand. It can be frustrating, and maybe even pride sucking, but it is so important.

4. It's okay to cry.

Let it out. Scream, cry, let those salty tears dry out your face, and let it out Mama, because the more you keep it in, the more it's going to hurt. Don't ever think it's not okay. As mother's we believe we can't let our children see us cry, but they have to know that we are human too, and not everything is cocoa and marshmallows. It. Is. Okay.

5. Pick up a hobby!

Do one thing that keeps you busy, for me it's my craft business, and as my daughter gets older, I know it is something we will be able to do together eventually. But when you have a busy body, you have an able mind. TV isn't a hobby, it will actually just make your depression worse. Hobbies are great, and switching them all the time isn't a bad thing, find out exactly what works for you!

Hope these tips help, and I would love to see if they did help anyone. #MamaOfOne #PostPartumSurvivor

advice
Like

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.