Education logo

TRAVELS

Journey Experience

By Shusmita RaniPublished 23 days ago 3 min read
2
TRAVELS
Photo by Javardh on Unsplash

Years I have waited to start my journey and today’s the day that it will finally begin.1969 kombi van and my hair blowing in the wind. I’m finally living the dream I have wanted to live for my entire life. Leaving my hometown for the first time gave me a sense of freedom and that I was finally out on my own. The sound of the old motor ticking away along a long straight of the highway. My destination is unknown to me, wherever I end up at sunset is where I’ll stay till dawn. The sun is shining so bright, beaming down on me; it feels like it is drawing me up into freedom of the bright blue sky. From a dry hot place, I’m starting to see the beautiful horizon. It calls me on.

I veer off the highway and onto a little skinny road, I have a feeling it will lead me to the sparkling blue water of the Pacific Ocean. The dirt track turns to a sandy, windy road and I feel like I’m getting closer and closer. I hit the sand, opened my vintage door, and flew out of the car, and I was free, free at last. The sand felt so smooth and cold and the wind was blowing my hair like crazy. The horizon was straight and in the distance, I saw a dark figure lurking in the neck of the horizon. From the distance it was small but as my imagination took over I could see a large metal vessel riding the waves from coast to coast of the great ocean. The salt air lashes my cheeks and burns my eyes. Off to my left, the low-lying clouds pelt the eastern coast. The cloudy skies give of a sense of peace about this abandoned and condemned place. I look to my right and in the distance, I spot an old shack. The sun is starting to set and I wonder if the shack is available to sleep the night till dawn cracks. I jump in my Volkswagen and drive towards it, it seems alone and deserted. I slowly open the door and peek around it. The shack was almost empty, it had a table and a chair in the middle of the room, and it smelled musty and old.

So I stayed there the night and as soon as the dawn light descended through the shades. I got up and hit the road again. In my travels I drove through an old town with a population of 100 people, it reminded me of home town and I started to get teary eyes over it. I stopped and had some lunch, hot chips, and a side of mullet deep fried to a delectable crisp and to top it off was a lemon squeezed over the top. As dusk started to set I knew I had to settle down somewhere and have a rest so I pulled over to the side of the road unpacked my billy and started a fire to make me some tea. Throughout the night I was constantly awoken for no reason. The frost started to set in leaving a cold damp mist resting on my sleeping bag. In the morning at the first break of dawn, I packed up my things and started to head down the road of mysterious wonders. Sometimes it's the journey that teaches you a lot about your destination. - Drake.

Have you ever become so engrossed in reaching a destination that you failed to enjoy the journey?

coursesVocaltravelstudentmovie reviewlisthigh schooldegreeCONTENT WARNINGcollegebook reviews
2

About the Creator

Shusmita Rani

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (1)

Sign in to comment
  • Dharrsheena Raja Segarran22 days ago

    Hey, just wanna let you know that this is more suitable to be posted in the Wander community 😊

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.