Education logo

The three boastful brothers

There were once three brothers who liked to brag. They showed off so much that no one believed anything they said.

By 李力Published 9 months ago 5 min read
1

There were once three brothers who liked to brag. They showed off so much that no one believed anything they said.

Unable to stay at home, the three brothers decided to change their environment and go to a place far away.

One day they saw a prince on the road. They looked at the prince's splendid suit and full of jewels, and together they thought of a way to cheat the prince of all things.

So they stopped the prince affectionately and said, "Dear Prince! We have long heard of your wisdom and cleverness. Please promise to tell us a story. Whoever does not believe in the stories told by others must be the slave of the storyteller. As for slaves, I think you know that everything belongs to their master!"

Why did the three brothers compete with the prince to tell stories? Because they felt that they were so good at bragging that the young prince would be defeated by them. If the prince loses, the prince will be their slave. Wouldn't all the prince's things then belong to the three brothers?

The prince agreed, and they called some passers-by as witnesses, and then sat down under a tree. The game has officially begun.

The eldest of the three brothers started first. "When I was a kid, I used to play hide and seek with my brothers," he said. I went to the tallest tree in the village to hide, looking for a whole day, my brothers did not find me. Looking at the gradually dark sky, they no longer look for me. See my brothers left, I also want to climb down the tree, but then it was so dark, the tree is so high, I can not climb down. Then I thought, if I had a rope, tied one end of the rope to a tree, and followed the rope, wouldn't I be able to climb down the tree safely and smoothly? So I went to a nearby village and borrowed a thick rope from a villager. With this long and thick rope, I was able to climb down the tree and go home."

The prince, hearing this contradictory story, did not argue with him, nor did he express his disbelief at its contents, but he said nothing, only smiled a little, and then, quietly watching the second of the three brothers, waited for him to go on blowing. The three brothers were very surprised. They did not expect the prince to fall for it. Then it was the second brother's turn to blow. He said: "On the day we played hide-and-seek with my brother, I did not know that my brother was hiding in the tallest tree in the village, so I ran into the forest to look for my brother. In the forest, I suddenly saw a dark figure into the grass, I thought it was brother? He chased them in, but he knew that the dark figure was not his brother at all, but a hungry tiger. The tiger came at me with its mouth wide open. I saw that there was no place to hide, and it was too late to escape, so I had an idea and jumped into the tiger's bloody mouth, and I climbed into its belly along the tiger's throat, in order to come out of the tiger's belly alive earlier. I was in his stomach kicking and jumping and yelling. The tiger couldn't stand it. He opened his mouth and spat me out. I flew hundreds of feet through the air before I landed safely in front of my house. In this way, I saved the lives of the whole village, because from that day on, the big tiger dared not come to our village for evil."

After listening to the second brother's nonsense, the prince still did not express his opinion, and he told the third brother to quickly continue to blow. The third man was very afraid. He thought, "If I cannot make the prince disbelieve my story, shall we not all be his slaves?" Then, frowning, he stammered out: "Yes... one God, I... Walk by the shore, hair Now the fishermen were very sad. I asked them why. They told me they hadn't caught a fish in a year and were starving. I told them I could help them get the fish back. So, I jumped into the water, became a fish, looking in the water. Suddenly, I found that there was a fish as big as the sky, swallowed all the fish in the sea into his stomach. As soon as the big fish saw me, it pounced on me with its wide mouth. I immediately changed back, took a knife to the mouth of the big fish to cut off, and finally cut off the mouth of the big fish, so that the big fish neither ear to ear, nor can bite people. Then I became a small fish and swam into the belly of the big fish and drove out all the fish it had eaten into the belly, and the fishermen caught all the fish alive. After I swam ashore, the fishermen regarded me as a hero and gave me many gifts."

After listening to the third man's nonsense, the prince still showed no doubt. When the three braggers saw it, they were frightened and afraid! But they thought, "He won't fall for us? When it is his turn to speak later, we will be careful not to fall for his tricks, so that we can draw even with him, and at most no one can beat anyone else!"

Having made up their minds, the three brothers revived themselves, and pricked up their six ears, and listened without a word to the prince.

"I am a prince. "As you know," said the prince, "I have not only a rich and vast land, but also countless riches. But yesterday, three of my slaves escaped. So I followed their escape trail here. I wanted to catch these three slaves, and now I have found them." After a short pause, the prince looked at the three brothers and went on: "Do you know who these three unfortunate fellows are? You three blowhards!"

When the three brothers heard this, they were frightened, for if they had agreed with the prince, would they not all have become his slaves? What if we don't agree with the prince? Wouldn't that be tantamount to admitting that they had lost the game and had to be the prince's slaves? Ouch! Was it for or against what the prince said? The three brothers opened their mouths wide and could not speak for a long time.

At last the witnesses delivered their verdict. "The Prince has won," they said. "The three braggers shall be his slaves!"

But the prince did not really take the three frightened blowhards back as his slaves. He only said solemnly to the three blowhards, "You must remember that no good will come of lying everywhere by bragging." You should find a proper job, rely on labor to eat, and do it honestly. If you continue to brag and lie, I will send my guards to cut off your stinking tongues with knives."

Then the prince left the three braggers, who were as dumb as wooden chickens, and went away.

pop culture
1

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.