Education logo

The Power of Small Moments: Connecting Through Literature on the Subway.

How One Encounter Changed My Perspective and Inspired Personal Growth.

By DihashPublished about a year ago 3 min read
1
The Power of Small Moments: Connecting Through Literature on the Subway.
Photo by Robert Tudor on Unsplash

One seemingly small moment that had a big impact on my life happened during my morning commute to work. I was riding the subway and noticed an older man sitting across from me. He was dressed in shabby clothing and had a weathered, tired look on his face. I had seen plenty of people like him before and normally wouldn't have given him a second thought, but something about him caught my attention. This realization stayed with me long after that subway ride ended. It made me see the world with fresh eyes and appreciate the beauty of the unexpected. It also taught me that sometimes the smallest moments can lead to the most meaningful experiences, and that taking a chance on connecting with someone can lead to a new perspective, a new friend, or even a new path in life. The encounter with the man on the subway became a reminder to never judge a book by its cover, and instead, to approach the world with curiosity and an open heart.

As I watched him, I noticed that he was reading a book, and not just any book, but a book that I had read and loved. It was a novel by my favorite author, and I couldn't believe that someone who looked like him would be reading it. I felt an urge to talk to him, to ask him what he thought of the book, but I hesitated. I was afraid that he would brush me off or think I was crazy for approaching him.

But then, as the train approached my stop, I mustered up the courage to say something. I leaned over and said, "Excuse me, I couldn't help but notice you're reading one of my favorite books. What do you think of it?" The man looked up at me, surprised, and then a smile spread across his face. We ended up talking for the rest of the ride, and I learned that he had been a professor of literature before falling on hard times.

That small moment ended up having a big impact on me. I realized how quick I was to judge people based on their appearance and how wrong I could be. I also realized how much I loved literature and how much it could connect people, no matter their background or circumstances.

After that day, I started paying more attention to the small moments in my life and how they could reveal profound truths about myself and the world. I started talking to strangers more often and being more open to new experiences. I even started volunteering at a local literacy program to help people who, like the man on the subway, had fallen on hard times but still had a love for books.

That seemingly small moment on the subway ended up changing my perspective, values, and decisions. It made me realize that every interaction, no matter how brief or insignificant it may seem, has the potential to impact someone's life in a profound way. In a world where we often feel disconnected and isolated, it's important to remember that every interaction has the potential to make a difference. Whether it's a smile, a kind word, or a conversation on the subway, these small moments can have a big impact on our lives and the lives of those around us. By paying attention to the small things and being open to new experiences, we can discover profound truths about ourselves and the world, and take steps towards creating a more connected and compassionate society. So, let us embrace the power of small moments and never underestimate the impact that they can have.

interview
1

About the Creator

Dihash

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.