Education logo

The long noon nights

This writing is about mental physical and emotional. Here you will find some more motivation, for people that really need this im here to give a little help . Thank you enjoy my write 😁

By Xhoni hykoPublished 9 months ago 3 min read
Like

It is impossible to accurately gauge someone's emotions or inner struggles based solely on their appearance or online persona. While our lives may seem flawless to outsiders, the reality can be quite different. Personally, I constantly worry about my academic performance, especially with the impending end-of-year exams. The burden weighs heavily on my mind, often causing sleepless nights. At times, it all becomes too overwhelming, and I feel lost and isolated. When I performed poorly on a test, I managed to hold myself together until I got home. Once there, I couldn't contain my emotions and broke down in tears in front of my mother. She took the time to listen and then explained that just like physical health, we all have mental health. Our mental health encompasses our feelings, thoughts, emotions, and moods. She reassured me that feeling down, angry, or stressed is perfectly normal, just as it is normal to experience happiness, confidence, and carefreeness. Our emotions fluctuate based on external circumstances, and it is okay to experience both positive and negative emotions. Having good mental health does not mean being happy all the time. My mother could empathize with the stress I was feeling, so she suggested I take a break from everything and engage in activities I enjoy. Following her advice, I made myself a warm cup of hot chocolate, snuggled up in a cozy blanket, and watched a movie. Surprisingly, I felt significantly better afterward. It occurred to me that my mother should take her own advice. Most of us only share the positive aspects of our lives and rarely reveal our true feelings. Each morning, as I wake up, negative thoughts flood my mind. It requires all my energy to get out of bed and pretend that everything is okay. As the day progresses, these negative thoughts intensify, making it difficult to concentrate in class. Some days, it feels like I am standing at the edge of a waterfall, overwhelmed by the rushing water. Everything becomes too much to handle. Initially, I was hesitant to confide in my friends about how down I was feeling, fearing that they wouldn't understand. However, when Sasha opened up to me about her own stress, I felt comfortable sharing that I didn't feel like myself. Just having her listen made me feel understood. Sasha shared some coping strategies that had helped her, but unfortunately, they didn't work for me. Even when I tried to spend time with my friends, I still felt isolated. Activities that used to bring me joy now felt dull and uninteresting. I became increasingly worried about Andre, who had become withdrawn and distant from our group. Seeking guidance, I approached our head of year, despite my initial reluctance. He suggested that I encourage Andre to speak with him since his negative feelings seemed persistent. The head of year explained that sometimes, our overwhelming emotions can be more intense than our everyday feelings. These emotions linger for extended periods and affect our thoughts, feelings, and behaviors. They can hinder us from living the life we want. That's exactly what I was going through. He also emphasized that just as we seek help when physically ill, we should do the same for our mental health. Sometimes, our overwhelming emotions are triggered by external factors, while other times, they arise without any apparent reason. After this enlightening conversation, I no longer felt alone. It was a relief to discuss my mental health openly. Additionally, scientific research has shown that exercise can be beneficial when feeling low. The head of year encouraged me to join the school football club, where Sasha was already a member. Although I still have days when the negative thoughts persist, I am gradually gaining a better understanding of my mental health and learning how to cope. Our head of year reminded me that aside from him, my friends, family, and teachers are also there to lend support. I never realized how understanding the people around me could be. While discussing mental health may not always be easy, it is comforting to know that the person I confide in may be able to offer assistance. For those who struggle with opening up, it's perfectly acceptable to try alternative outlets such as writing, engaging in sports, reading, creating art, listening to music, or spending time with pets. Anything that brings comfort and solace is worth pursuing. If you find yourself being the confidant for someone going through a difficult time, simply listen without judgment or pressure. You don't have to provide all the answers. If you ever feel unsure about anything, seek guidance from a trusted adult. Discussing mental health doesn't have to be daunting since it is an experience we all share.

interviewteacherstudentcollegebullying
Like

About the Creator

Xhoni hyko

Im joni

Im new to writings and english is not my primary language 😅

I would like to share my ideas maybe someone can like it or can use in their write to 😅😁

I have a website account

https://xhonihyko23.wixsite.com/akxwritings

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.