Education logo

Teacher King's English Speaking Lesson: In the living room

Learn English the fun way!

By Kevin L. KingPublished 3 years ago 4 min read
Like
Teacher King's English Speaking Lesson: In the living room
Photo by Yehleen gaffney on Unsplash

Learn the words

1. coffee table

2. sofa

3. armchair

4. vase

5. clock

6. rug

7. television

8. TV stand

9. bookcase

10. painting

Learn the phrasal verb : Turn up

Meaning: To have something suddenly arrive.

“The delivery truck hasn’t turned up yet.”

Learn the verb : Notice

“I noticed you don’t have a television in your home.”

notice: Did you notice his new bookcase?

noticed: She noticed there weren’t any paintings in his house.

noticing: I’ve been noticing more people don’t have televisions.

noticed: I haven’t noticed any change in the weather this year.

Read the conversation

Sam: I love your new home! I’ve got you a vase as a housewarming gift.

Paul: Thank you. I’ll have to buy a plant for it. I don’t have one at the moment.

Sam: You’re welcome. It’ll look good between the sofa and the armchair.

Paul: I made you a cup of tea. I’ll leave it on the coffee table.

Sam: Thank you. I noticed you don’t have a television in your living room.

Paul: That’s right. I decided that watching TV is wasting too much time.

Sam: What are you going to do with the TV stand?

Paul: I guess I don’t need it anymore. Do you want it?

Sam: I would love it! Right now, my television is on the bookcase.

Paul: I’m still waiting for my bookcase. The delivery truck hasn’t turned up yet.

Answer the questions

1. What was Sam’s housewarming gift for Paul?

2. Where did Paul put the cup of tea?

3. Does Sam have a television?

4. Why does Paul not want a television in his home?

Fill in the blanks

Sam: I love your new ______! I’ve got you a ______ as a ______ gift.

Paul: ______ you. I’ll have to buy a plant for it. I don’t have one at the ______.

Sam: You’re ______. It’ll look good ______ the sofa and the ______.

Paul: I ______ you a cup of tea. I’ll ______ it on the ______ table.

Read the talk

A housewarming gift

I visited my friend’s new house today. Sam doesn’t have a TV in his living room. I’ve been noticing more and more people are deciding not to have televisions in their home. I think this might be because many people are already spending too much time on their cellphones.

Sam kindly gave me his TV stand. Right now, my TV is sitting on top of the bookcase, so I was very happy to take the TV stand. I decided to get Sam a housewarming gift. At first, I wanted to give him a painting, but I decided to get a vase instead. I was worried that he wouldn’t like the painting.

I also bought a new clock for myself. I think my old clock is a little slow. I’ve been turning up late to work recently. Luckily, no one noticed!

Answer the questions

1. Why does Paul think more people don’t have a television?

2. What did Sam give Paul?

3. Did Paul give Sam a painting?

4. What was wrong with Paul’s old clock?

Find six verbs in the talk

1. _________

2. _________

3. _________

4. _________

5. _________

6. _________

Take the test

1. Paul ___ have a plant for the vase.

a. don’t

b. doesn’t

c. won’t

2. The vase will look good ___ the sofa and the armchair.

a. next to

b. behind

c. between

3. Sam’s television is on the ___.

a. bookcase

b. TV stand

c. coffee table

4. The delivery truck hasn’t turned ___ yet.

a. in

b. on

c. up

5. Paul’s been ___ more and more people don’t have a television.

a. notices

b. noticing

c. noticed

6. At first, Paul ___ to get Sam a painting.

a. wanted

b. wants

c. want

7. Paul bought a ___ for himself.

a. vase

b. painting

c. clock

8. Which item was not mentioned?

a. The bookcase.

b. The rug.

c. The armchair.

Begin a new English Lesson:

Teacher King's English Speaking Lesson: The weather

Teacher King's English Speaking Lesson: My pencil case

Check out the book:

Teacher King's English Beginner Course

Answers

1. B 2. C 3. A 4. C 5. B 6. A 7. C 8. B

how to
Like

About the Creator

Kevin L. King

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.