Education logo

Skills vs Education Debate, my experience will clear your ambiguities and give you direction

An experience that gonna open your eyes

By Farhan Mirza Published 10 months ago 4 min read
1
Skills vs Education Debate, my experience will clear your ambiguities and give you direction
Photo by Tim Mossholder on Unsplash

This personal story of mine will make the decision a lot easier for many of you. For a young boy in his early 20’s , the most difficult and yet the most significant decision of life is choosing a field of study or course of a career to follow for rest of the life.

When I was 17 years old after my high school, I enrolled myself in Electrical engineering degree. Unfortunately, I couldn’t find my interest in this subject. After 4 years of graduation, I was standing no where because I didn’t develop any skills, expertise or professional knowledge in my degree.

The good part was, I found another area of my interest and that was ENGLISH DEBATES. I saw my interests and skills overlapping in debates. I made a mark in that and always stood first in all debates competition in my university.

Aligning this skill into my career , I chose the path of competitive exams for myself , where this leadership and dynamic skills of mine could be perfectly utilized. I appeared in the exam , but I couldn’t get my desired allocated job .

In this process , another avenue in life opened up to me and guess what, It was again according to my skills and interest. I started teaching the students of competitive exams. Here I have found my peace, satisfaction and good monetary benefits too.

The debate between skills and education has long been a topic of discussion in various contexts, including the workforce, academia, and policy-making. While education provides a foundation of knowledge and critical thinking, skills are practical abilities that can be directly applied in specific tasks or professions. Both elements have their merits and play crucial roles in personal and professional development.

Education equips individuals with a broad range of knowledge, theoretical frameworks, and analytical skills. It fosters intellectual growth, promotes critical thinking, and cultivates a well-rounded understanding of various subjects. Education emphasizes concepts, theories, and principles that form the basis for further exploration and specialization. It provides individuals with the ability to adapt, learn new skills, and navigate complex situations throughout their lives.

On the other hand, skills are practical competencies acquired through hands-on experience, vocational training, and practical application. They focus on specific tasks, techniques, and abilities needed to perform a particular job or role efficiently. Skills development enhances one's ability to execute tasks effectively, solve problems, and deliver tangible outcomes. Skills can be acquired through apprenticeships, vocational training programs, on-the-job experiences, and specialized courses.

In today's dynamic and evolving job market, the balance between skills and education has become increasingly important. While a solid educational foundation is valuable, employers are increasingly seeking candidates with practical skills and relevant experience. The ability to apply knowledge in real-world scenarios and demonstrate competency in specific areas has become a critical factor in hiring decisions.

The debate between skills and education should not be viewed as an either-or scenario but rather as a symbiotic relationship. Education provides the theoretical framework and conceptual understanding necessary for skills development. Meanwhile, skills complement education by translating theoretical knowledge into practical application and real-world impact.

To thrive in the modern world, individuals need a combination of both education and skills. A well-rounded education equips individuals with the capacity to think critically, adapt to new challenges, and continue learning throughout their careers. However, acquiring and refining practical skills enhances employability, professional growth, and the ability to contribute effectively in the workplace.

Hence, What I have deduced from my life experience is that , once should only enroll in a degree of his interest or the other highly suggested way is to learn a skill that is according to the one’s interest and experience. Because, my dear reader life is short and one should always focus on the area of personal interest. So, the debate of Education vs Skills sums up in a way that, Skill that is aligned with interest should be the top priority. However, if someone is lucky enough to get education in the area of interest ,then its like hitting two targets with one arrow .

Do tell in comments what do think about my story and opinion.

how tobook reviews
1

About the Creator

Farhan Mirza

I am an accomplished writer and seasoned professional with a unique blend of educational backgrounds in Electrical Engineering, Political Science, and an MBA degree with years of copywriting and content writing experience .

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (1)

Sign in to comment
  • StoryholicFinds6 months ago

    love it! ❤️

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.