Education logo

Reflecting on My Mental Health Class Part I

“Without reflection, we go blindly on our way, creating more unintended consequences, and failing to achieve anything useful.” – Margaret J. Wheatley

By Nkeonye Judith IZUKAPublished 4 years ago 2 min read
Like
Reflecting on My Mental Health Class Part I
Photo by madison lavern on Unsplash

On my first day in class on the 4th of May 2020, I found myself asking why I had not done this course sooner. It dawned on me that it takes time and effort to understand a system before thriving in it.[I had moved to Ontario 2 years earlier after practicing as a physician in Nigeria].

Mental health practice in Ontario is an insightful course. It is a module in a bridging program in Ontario. It has been designed for internationally trained mental health professionals. It is also a bridge to Registration and Employment in Mental Health Practice[BREM]. In my opinion, it provides insight into mental health practice in Ontario and the social welfare system.

By Online Marketing on Unsplash

The reputation of the BREM program preceded it. Six weeks following the start of the program, I had kept pace. I was mentally prepared. I had foreknowledge the program was intensive, engaging, and voluminous. 

A good day was one in which I had rested the night before and had breakfast before attending class. It is not a good idea to be late. New content is always taught and there is the risk of missing a point that is forever lost. The tea breaks are essential due to the huge volume of material. It is tough to take in so much information in one sitting.

By JESHOOTS.COM on Unsplash

I do not mind the assignments once they are well-paced. I like them for their ability to gauge retention and comprehension. It is useful to have in-class student participation interspersed with tutor input. It is great for attentiveness, engagement, and comprehension.

Some of the course content is familiar. This is especially for those relating to client evaluation and management. It reinforces some of the best practices I know.

By Chris Liverani on Unsplash

Some other content is what I refer to as 'relatable knowledge'. These resemble old information but not exactly. Information from the course fills in any gaps here. There is also brand new information like theoretical concepts in psychotherapy and psychology. I do not find them overwhelming as the course does not contain staggering amounts. There is a lot of emphasis on informed consent, confidentiality, and client autonomy.

By Tim Mossholder on Unsplash

This course gets me excited about interacting with the Canadian mental health system. Until that happens, I'll make do with my imagination. On a general note, my BREM class experiences are enjoyable. My classmates' energy and camaraderie burst through the screen. The conversations are engaging. I do not deny the deficiencies of a virtual class. There are the challenges of screen glare and prolonged sitting. My screen is mostly dimmed and I have my anti-glare glasses on. My toilet breaks are also frequent.

By visuals on Unsplash

I doubt mental health practice would be as enjoyable as my class experience. My career has shown that the 'classroom' and 'field' experiences are quite different. That's akin to 'textbook' versus 'reality'.

By Edwin Andrade on Unsplash

I expect the Bridge to Registration and Employment Program will launch me into a career in mental health as soon as possible. Few months post-employment, a program evaluation will be useful. This is better than an evaluation done earlier, which might provide less insight.

I’m not very excited about the salary prospects. My tutor tells me it is a reflection of the priority placed on mental health in relation to the rest of healthcare. Though, my past experience has shown that enjoying one’s day to day makes up for what is lacking in take-home pay. I am also hoping it’ll be a good transition when I resume my future practice as a family physician in North America. I don’t know what day that will be.

courses
Like

About the Creator

Nkeonye Judith IZUKA

love life & humor, simple, grounded, focused, tenacious, motivated, warm- hearted and a fan of nutrition

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.