Education logo

Raising Greatness

Black Parenting and Education

By Diamond B. WillisPublished 5 years ago 4 min read
Like
Raising a Black Child with a Learning Disability

When my son started kindergarten my son was struggling, just like some of the other children in his class. I thought he was just nervous to be starting something so new. The first year of school jitters, so as an educator, I assumed it was completely normal and I didn't put much thought into it. As he progressed to the first grade, I watched my son try, but struggle. Every subject seemed to be a dreadful experience for him. It seemed to become harder and harder as the school year progressed, and things became much harder for him in the classroom. He had been tutored and also received an intervention. Help was provided regularly, but he seems to still have a really hard time.

I also was a stay at home parent at the time and I bought resources to help him out. For example, flash cards, reading material, different manipulatives number charts, etc. I made sure I did my part as a parent as well as an educator and still my son struggled. This was breaking my heart. One day my son and I even shared tears together because he told me "mommy, I can't do it" I wiped his face and said, "Son, yes, you can, you just may need a little extra help." I told him he was a "smart cookie." The end of the year was quickly approaching for my son and at his parent and teacher conference the question to have him tested came up. I was hit with every emotion possible I refused to be THAT PARENT that just signed off for him to be tested for a learning disability and possibly be placed in special education just because The school system felt he may have a problem. I automatically thought "Great, they're trying to label another black child." This moment was when I had to really step back and re-evaluate everything regarding my son.

He had great teachers that really cared, one was even African American, so why would I assume the worst. My son did get diagnosed with a learning disability and He also had to repeat the first grade, but to be honest, that was probably the best decision I could have made for him. He gets continuous help and he is learning. He can even stay included in his class with the other kids during the instruction of the lesson. He isn't isolated from his peers. Going through this journey with my son has taught me something and that is, Everything is not always as bad as it seems. My son is in the second grade attending the same school and he is making As and Bs. He has been on honor roll all of this 2018/2019 school year. He is always excited about school, and eager to learn and get his work done. He wants to become a scientist when he gets older as well as a break dancer. This once shy boy has now opened up in an unfamiliar world and he is blooming.

Not only has he accomplish honor roll this whole year, but he has overcome challenges facing his learning disability. I am a proud mother of a son with a learning disability that has beaten the odds and although this journey in his education isn't over I have the confidence and belief that he will continue to flourish. He Has never had an issue with his behavior and I thank God that my son is a fighter. Although it may take him a little bit longer than others to understand his work and assignments he is learning him right now and he has learned if he works hard it will pay off. He understands that he has support. I wish nothing but the best for my young prince and so far he is doing so well.

I do not let his learning disability define him. And some of his teachers do the same, they push him just as hard, sometimes even harder than the other students and I don't intervene because I respect that his teachers see potential in him and desire to help with his success. It still does take a village to raise a child I am just so thankful for my village. The love, support, and push they help to give is amazing and although sometimes I can see my son's frustration, he never gives up. He will ask questions and tries until he understands. Accepting he had a learning disability was extremely hard but if I would have never accepted it I wouldn't have been able to get him the proper help that he needed, and I wouldn't be able to witness his testimony. I am raising greatness. A young, black, gifted son who will make a difference in this world and have an impact on everyone he comes in contact with. His learning disability may be his door of opportunity, so whatever God has planned for my child I am sure it's going to be a joy to watch. My son has embraced his disability to push himself even harder, this is the beginning of an amazing journey for him and I accept that as well.

Ziah, mommy is so proud of you. Keep reaching for the stars, my little scientist.

student
Like

About the Creator

Diamond B. Willis

My name is Dominica but I go by "Diamond". I'm older than what I look, I'm Athletic, I love anything to do with healthy hair. I'm a foodie that will try just about anything. I enjoy being a mom/wife. I'm also an aspiring model.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.