Education logo

Principal or Bully?

Where do you go when you get no help protecting your child?

By Amanda J MollettPublished 6 years ago Updated 2 years ago 3 min read
Like
Stop Bullying!

I thought I was sending my daughter to a good school. One where she would be safe and have fun...I was wrong!

My daughter is 11 years old now and in the fifth grade. She goes to a school where I thought she would make friends, have fun, learn something, and of course feel safe when her world was already crashing down on her.

What we got instead was a teacher that scared her, made fun of her and the other kids in the class, one who did not believe when she got bullied, and a teacher that would not do a damn thing about a girl hurting my daughter in gym class or in her regular class. As well as a principal who did not believe her, one who came straight out and said she was not being bullied. One that not only refused to do anything about it but also had made trouble for me for being the only one who was there for my child.

There is s a girl in my daughter's class who threatens kids in her class and in the other fifth-grade class constantly. She threatens my daughter and me by making us aware that her parents are in the military. This is a scare tactic for this girl to get what she wants and to be mean with out having the worry that she is going to get told on or get into any trouble. However, she did not count on one of the kids standing up to her or the parents doing the same. This girl has tried to trip my daughter so she would fall flat on her face. I have been told by other kids in her class that in gym class this girl purposely tried to hit my daughter in the face when playing volleyball. She has shoved, elbowed, tripped, and threatened my child, as well as talked bad about me to my daughter to the extent that my daughter felt she needed to defend me.

As a parent, I except both of my kids to not only be safe but also feel safe and secure when they are in the care of someone else. Whether it be school, church, daycare, or a friend's house. We as parents assume our kids will be safe when not in our care. For me, if you can not protect my kid, then she will no longer be a part of that church. She will no longer be allowed to go to that friends' house if I can not know she is safe. Why should the school she go to be any different?

I tried every thing and felt like a failure for my child. I told the teacher many times, talked to the principal, the counselor, I tried to get information for the other parents so that I could contact them about their daughter and the problems, I passed them a note along with my name and phone number, nothing was working. I witnessed this girl picking on my daughter and because they claim they were there and did not see this they decided to not do anything about it. I saw this girl once again at recess when I was visiting my daughter picking on her so I said something to her about it and also told my daughter to not worry because if they refused to do something about it then I would. The little girl went up to the teacher and said I threatened her, when I told her what really happened she refused to listen. I told her that if she refused to do anything about the bully, even though there are bully laws now I would do it myself. And I did! Many people do not walk the walk but they talk a lot of talk about wanting to do something. Let us not let our kids become victims. Let us protect our kids.

student
Like

About the Creator

Amanda J Mollett

First, and foremost I am a mom…always . I am a proud mom of a graduate & artist. I am a author/writer and a journalist. I have multiple certificates in journalism and various writing certificates such as novel writing and creative writing.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.