Education logo

My Mission / My Educere

What I want to do to formal education

By Sol David TVPublished 3 years ago 4 min read
1
My Mission / My Educere
Photo by CDC on Unsplash

What does the future of learning look like? How can we cultivate the best human minds?

My role as a teacher whether in the classroom, drama studio or dance class is to “draw out” the best that innately sits inside each student. We understand the word “educate” to mean, “acquiring knowledge, skill and information” or to “receive instruction from outside ourselves” and both of those definitions are true. The above definitions derive from one of two Latin roots –educare. The other Latin root is educere which means “to draw out.”

The latter definition is the one that excites me! That’s the one I like to roll with. Both approaches are vital, of course – however, my key function is to use a variety of tools that draw out the amazing-ness in each individual. I love to educare – instill knowledge and skills but then I really love to enable the student to perceive, question, and structure their own responses around their learning. I love to watch them develop into intuitive, logical, creative, methodical – well rounded in essence – human beings, who can manage their minds emotions as well as their emotions and navigate this world and the people around them.

This is my chief aim. My master target.

When I engage in this manner with some young people, they are not always ready for it. Especially, when I’m in the classroom in my function as “teacher.” When they get to know me, they understand that’s how I am. But when I ‘inherit’ them from the system or their regular teachers in some capacity, it is clear to me that they are used to templated answers, or providing answers that they think I want to hear. Some are terrified of making mistakes as much as they are of asking questions.

I find this startling.

I think this has a lot to do with the changes that the Conservative Government overhauled the British education system with back in 2010/2011. Curriculums became far more linear with exams at the end as the be all and end all measure of a child’s intelligence. Teachers and courses are forced to deliver subjects predominantly assessed in end of year exams. Coursework and other methods are deemed ‘inefficient.’ What we have now are curriculums that attempt to compete with world leading countries by cramming as much knowledge possible within a period of time and regurgitated in an excellent manner at a 2 x 2 ft desk in a cold hall somewhere.

The pressure on educators turns aspects of education into a race against time. Information into your head and then out of your mouth or pen in prescribed fashion.

However, the student or pupil returns to the ‘real world’ of relationships, arguments, social media, spirituality, politics and a lightning fast world where technology demands different qualities from us as human beings to survive.

If I had a penny every time I heard somebody say “They never taught that at school.”

What aren’t they teaching and why not?

This isn’t the blog to discuss the reasons. This is the blog to say that many educators are sick (literally) of a system that fails its residents and deprives them of learning the vital life skills that guide them to success.

We need it all fundamentally.

The subject knowledge and skillsets . The people skills but more importantly… Knowing yourself.

Families, friends and sometimes doctors, police and counsellors are the ones forced to pick up the broken pieces. The pieces that didn’t know how to stick together under pressure or within a crisis. The broken pieces that never understood that they were okay and highly valued. The broken pieces that never knew that they had something significant to bring to the world around them. They learn instead to hide those broken pieces from a world that emphasises aspects that keep the machine ticking rather than creating the spaces to pause, listen and facilitate true growth and development.

It’s time to disrupt what we are used to.

I’m tired of being forced to watch the clock and fit in as much subject knowledge etc when I know that much of what they are learning can not serve them in the world to come.

I’m tired of preparing minds for jobs and careers with tools that are not fit for purpose.

I’ve had enough of watching colleagues drop off with sickness, depression and mental health issues because the system is hell bent on statistical results regardless of who gets in the way. Student or Teacher.

I had enough of hearing everybody moan about it whilst applauding the ‘Emperor’s New Clothes’

That’s why I have created a way that is at least a small help in all of this. I use my teaching and coaching skills, my experience, self development methods to “draw out” the innate brilliance of your young person. Infact, any person.

I offer 1 to 1’s and Mentoring sessions to build a whole variety of faculties and skillsets. Ones that will help them to stand up in this world and future-proof them against unpredictable times. I will help to find their purpose, their own authentic voice and their place in this world and hopefully draw out a generation of movers and shakers, whether that is at home, in their local surroundings or eventually on the world stage. If that’s not accomplished, at least somebody who is comfortable in their own skin.

Support me on this mission.

Let’s get educating.

____________________________________________________

Mr. David is an online mentoring programme that uses conversation, activities and coaching to bring the best out of the individual determining their life purpose & well-being strategies.

Email: [email protected]

____________________________________________________

teacher
1

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.