Education logo

Jeans and Pizza Won't Pay My Bills

Thank me financially, not with the ability to wear jeans at work

By Jade M.Published 2 years ago 4 min read
2

This morning I was checking my schedule and noticed that there was a video from our CEO. I rarely watch videos that pop up in my work app, but I knew the company was making changes due to staffing shortages across the company. I already knew the company shortened our hours, but I wondered what other changes were being made. I clicked the play button and eagerly listened to the CEO's message.

The video started with our CEO talking about how much money the company had made because of the recent holidays. We'd surpassed our goals in this 'uncertain time' and ended up making more money than the company ever had. He then began talking about the changes that were going to be made in the workplace. He told us that the business hours were going to be changing. He then went on to say that he'd decided to allow us to wear jeans to support us.

I stared at my phone in disbelief. This man just spent the entire first portion of the video bragging about how much money the company had made, and instead of offering us hazard pay, he was giving us the privilege of wearing jeans. This man was acknowledging the problem by shortening our workday, but his solution to us being understaffed and working during a pandemic was to allow us to wear jeans. Did he realize we were going to be working harder to make up for the coworkers who were out sick? He had to because the next thing he said was that he was going to keep our tasks to a minimum.

I turned the video off, angry that the CEO could be so tone-deaf to the employee's needs. I had been viewing the company's subreddit for weeks prior to watching his video and knew there were staffing shortages throughout the company. People were complaining about taking on extra tasks and sometimes being the only person to work in an entire store. I read multiple posts about people feeling overworked, and I feared that the same thing would soon happen to me.

Not only were people stressed out about staffing shortages, but some people stated they were afraid to go to work because of Covid. I remember reading one post that begged the company to shut down and only allow us to fill online orders only. A few people wrote about putting in their two-week notice. Someone even pointed out that we'd recently gotten holiday pay during the holiday season, so the company should have no trouble paying those who were still showing up to work.

I'll admit that I've never taken part in a jean day before, so I may be a little bias. Usually, whenever I've been offered the chance to wear jeans, I was required to donate at least a dollar to the company, and I work with the belief that I should bring money home and not give it back to the company. I don't even think I own a pair of jeans, but even if I did, the CEO's words would have still been a slap in the face. After all, my jeans can't clock into work so that I can avoid working to the point of exhaustion.

Other places I'd worked had given us free food, such as pizza or chicken strips. I guess if he'd offered us a pizza, he'd at least be giving those struggling a meal to eat. Why couldn't he give back to his workers by offering us hazard pay, or at least giving those who don't earn PTO a chance to earn some so that they can take time off if they get sick? He'd spent the entire beginning of the video bragging about how much money the company had made, but he did not try to put any of that money back into the people who made that possible.

While I make well above minimum wage, despite this, there are days where all I can think about are my bills. I cut out everything unnecessary, but I still struggle. I work as many hours as the company will allow, but sometimes it's still not enough. I've considered doing things like delivering groceries or switching jobs to earn more money, and I've even had to sell some of my belongings to survive. I never have money for extras, not even enough to cover the cost of a Netflix subscription.

When I ask for hazard pay, I'm not being greedy. Hazard pay would alleviate most of the stress I've been feeling lately. Honestly, I don't understand why I would have to take on more tasks while my pay rate stays the same.

If any CEOs are reading this, please know that we don't want pizza parties or jean days. We want to be given a chance to pay our bills without being forced to work multiple jobs. If we work for you, there should be some benefit for us, besides jean day or free food. We no longer want to work so hard for so little reward.

college
2

About the Creator

Jade M.

Jade is an indie author from Louisiana. While her first book failed, she has plans to edit and republish it and try again. She has a senior min pin that she calls her little editor, and a passion for video games and makeup.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.