Education logo

HOW TO INTRODUCE YOURSELF

Do's and Dont's with examples

By The Inspiring InkPublished about a year ago 3 min read
5

It's a brand new academic year and I'm feeling nervous,the teachers look different and some classmates also look new in class.

We're asked to introduce ourselves but I feel so afraid to speak up in front of everyone.I want to make a good first impression but I feel helpless...

If this is how you feel then this is for you:

For eg. I am from ‘____’. I took ‘____’ as I have always been passionate about ‘___’.

Did my schooling from ‘____’ and I hope to ‘____’ from this College?

Faculties usually don’t need your information.They just need your name and percentage in the last competitive exam and why you took the respective branch. Only that much is enough for the teachers to remember your name.

Remember to maintain the proper posture, stand confident, include hand actions and maintain eye contact with the audience.

Presenting ourselves is a big part of self-introduction for students in College. A lovely dress and a confident smile can give a tremendous impactful impression. Never forget to get rid of your phone.

Practice making resumes from the beginning;It will help you understand your drawbacks. Making the proper resume by your final years will help you find your confidence.

Never cross your fingers with professors. Always try to get into the good books. The more memorable and heartfelt you can make yourself in your professor’s thoughts, the more likely the instructor will help you with future academic pursuits or favourably evaluate you when providing a job reference or writing a recommendation for you.

Do's :

  • Summarize your professional status. The beginning of your self-introduction should contain your name and job title or experience.
  • Elaborate your experiences and achievements.
  • Finally, end the conversation with a lead-in to the next section of the talk.
  • Stick to the Context. Before you introduce yourself, understand the situation’s context.
  • Talk about who you are and what you do.
  • Make it relevant.
  • Talk about your contribution.
  • Don't go beyond what your title is.
  • Dress the part.
  • Prepare what you want to say ahead of time.
  • Body language

Dont's :

  • Don't just repeat what's on your CV and cover letter. Give instances to make it sound genuine.
  • Never enquire, "What do you want to know?" It demonstrates your lack of readiness.
  • Never tell life tales. If you wish to emphasise any certain characteristic, simply mention an experience.
  • Spend a short amount of time introducing yourself.

Examples

#1. Hello, my name is ______. I am a student at _______. I am from _____. I am studying _______. I am interested in ________. I am a member of ________. I am also involved in ___________.

I am a very outgoing person, and I love to meet new people. I am looking forward to meeting all of you and getting to know you better.

Thank you for having me here today.

#2. Hello, everyone!

My name is _____________ and I'm from ____________. I'm currently studying ____________ at _____________, and I hope to become ___________ one day.

I'm really passionate about ___________, and I'm always looking for new ways to learn and improve my skills. I'm also a firm believer of teamwork, and I believe that working together is the best way to achieve success.

I'm excited to start my career and can't wait to see what the future holds for me. I'm confident that I have what it takes to be a __________, and I'm looking forward to making a difference in the world.

Thank you for taking the time to get to know me. I hope to see you all soon!

how tointerviewhigh schoolcollege
5

About the Creator

The Inspiring Ink

Welcome to my blog!

Here, I share my thoughts and insights on a variety of topics including technology, business and personal development. Join us on the journey of discovery and growth and share your own thoughts in the comments section.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.