Education logo

How to Get Your Brain to Focus

A life experiment

By Adam DerejePublished 3 days ago 10 min read
How to Get Your Brain to Focus
Photo by Diego PH on Unsplash

A few years ago, I started to notice something about my own behavior that made me feel a little uneasy. Furthermore, that was that from the second that I awakened to the furthest limit of the day, my life was a progression of screens. My phone was the first thing I looked at when I woke up in the morning, so I spent the day in bed watching cooking videos on Instagram and switching between a variety of applications. But then it was time to get out of bed and make breakfast, so I focused on the iPad that was right next to the oven instead of the omelette in the pan.

I then moved to a different screen that was attached to another screen itself because it was time to work. Meanwhile, this little villain on my wrist was tapping and signaling and blooping and diverting me as I was attempting to finish significant stuff. Yet, there was one specific guilty party out of these various gadgets that I squandered more life on than whatever else.

My phone was that despicable item. Every day, I could spend hours working on this. Therefore, I made the decision to practically eliminate the item for a month. As a trial, I thought, "I'm going to live on this thing for only 30 minutes each and every day at a most extreme." This is therefore the amount of time I have for maps, the amount of time I have to call my mother, the amount of time I have to listen to music and podcasts, and I observed what transpired during this time. It took me about a week to adjust to a new, less stimulating level, but once I did, three curious things started to happen.

In the first place, my capacity to focus developed. It was as if I could focus on things much more easily than I had before this experiment started. It wasn't easy. However, in addition to this, as I moved about the world and especially when my mind wandered a little, I came up with additional concepts, plans, and ideas for the future.

Disposing of one straightforward gadget prompted these three impacts. Why? I started this long journey to learn what it takes to focus in a world full of distractions after noticing this a few years ago. In my office, I went through hundreds of research papers from front to back. I couldn't say whether you've at any point watched one of those wrongdoing shows where someone's settling a homicide.

As a result, they have a large Bristol board with string attached to papers, memos, and newspaper clippings—similar to the state of my office. I flew out to meet people who study focus from all over the world, and I did more experiments on myself until I had 25,000 words of research notes explaining why this is the case. How does technology affect our ability to focus and pay attention? I need to begin with the capacities to focus that we have. This is how we focus and how much control we have over the world around us. The studies done in this particular field are fascinating. It turns out that when we work at a computer, especially if our phone is nearby, we only focus on one thing for 40 seconds before switching to something else.

This time decreases to 35 seconds when we are working at Slack. However, after reviewing the research, the reason for this is not what we might expect. We believe that our brains are distracted, which is the issue. But after looking at the research, I've realized that this is the root cause of this distraction and is merely a symptom of a much bigger issue. Our brains are overstimulated rather than being distracted. It's that we need interruption in any case.

Our brains adore these insignificant bits of information, as well as the activities we engage in throughout the day, such as email and social media. Our minds even have a mechanism called the "novelty bias" that allows us to be rewarded with a rush of dopamine—one of those wonderful pleasure chemicals—when we eat and order a whole medium pizza from Domino's—just like when we fall in love. We get that equivalent feeling when we actually take a look at Facebook. Dopamine is pumping through our bodies.

Therefore, not only do we want to be distracted, but our minds also reward us for seeking it out in the first place. Thus, this is the condition of our psyches today. We are in this hyperstimulated state, switching our attention between a number of different things that are extremely mentally stimulating. As a result, I considered, "Okay, if the phone had this effect on my attention span, what if I lowered how stimulated I was still?" Therefore, there is a name for the sensation we get when we transition from a state of high stimulation to a state of low stimulation.

That is what we call "boredom," (laughs) the restlessness we experience on Sunday afternoons when we've had a very busy week and are laying on the couch wondering, "Alright, well, what am I doing now?" Therefore, I contacted my website visitors and asked, "What is the most boring thing that you can think of doing? I will make myself exhausted for an hour daily, for a month." As a result, I did some things that my readers continue to irritate me about to this day. I spent an hour reading the iTunes terms and conditions on day one. (Laughter) Actually, it's shorter and easier to read than you might expect.

On day four, I waited in the baggage claims department of Air Canada on hold. It's extremely simple - This is the stunt: if you have any desire to make yourself exhausted, don't call the reservations division, call the baggage carousel individuals since you will stand by hours, on the off chance that you at any point overcome whatsoever.

On Day 19, I attempted to count every zero in the first 10,000 digits of pi. Ugh. Day 24, I spent an hour watching a clock tick. and 27 additional events this month. Jeez. I actually recollect. However, in a curious coincidence, I observed the same effects as I did in the smartphone experiment. My mind took about a week to adjust to a newer, lower level of stimulation. Curiously, this coincides with research indicating that it takes our minds about eight days to fully relax and rest, like when we go on vacation.

We need to take longer vacations than we currently do. However, I also noticed that I had a longer attention span. My mind was so much less stimulated that it did not seek the distraction in the first place, but the fact that I was not surrounded by fewer distractions made it even easier for me to concentrate.

The fun part, on the other hand, was coming up with new plans and ideas that hadn't occurred to me before. This was because my mind had more time to wander. I adore a wonderful J quote that you might be familiar with. R. R. Tolkien, where that's what he says "not every one of the individuals who meander are lost," and precisely the same thing is valid, it ends up, as to our concentration, concerning our consideration. Assuming that you recall when your best, most splendid thoughts strike you, you're seldom centered around something.

Perhaps toward the beginning of today you were washing up, or perhaps some morning previously, and afterward your psyche got an opportunity to interface a few of the heavenly bodies of thoughts that were whirling around in your brain to make a thought that couldn't have ever emerged in any case assuming you were centered around something different, on your telephone, for instance. This is a mode, which I refer to as "scatter focus" when we do it intentionally and allow our minds to wander.

Additionally, the research demonstrates that it enables our minds to plan and generate concepts by allowing them to wander. This fascinates me. It would appear when we just let our consideration rest, it goes to three principal places: We ponder the past, we contemplate the present, and we ponder what's to come. In any case, we ponder the past short of what we could think, just around 12% of the time, and frequently we're reviewing thoughts in these idea meandering episodes.

But we wander to think about the present 28% of the time, which is a much more productive place to wander. And this is, you know, something as simple as typing an email and being unable to find a way to phrase something because it is very delicate, perhaps political, you walk to another room, the office, and the solution strikes you because your mind had a chance to approach the issue and prod at it from various angles. But here's the thing: we spend more time thinking about the future than we do about the past or the present all at once.

Whenever our psyche is meandering, we contemplate the future 48% of the time. Even though the day hasn't started yet, we plan out our entire day while taking a shower because of this. When our minds wander, this is known as our mind's prospective bias. If you're good at math or math, I should mention that these numbers no longer add up to 100 in Canada. It's because our mind is dull, blank, or devoid of an idea that is rooted in time the majority of the time. However, whatever it is that you enjoy doing that doesn't demand your full attention and allows your mind to wander, My hobby is knitting, which is something that is not necessarily associated with my age or gender.

One of my favorite pastimes is knitting, which I do in hotel rooms, on trains, and in airplanes.

Before today's event, I was knitting in my hotel room because it helps calm you down and calm your nerves. Furthermore, I think of such countless thoughts when I weave, I have a scratch pad close to me. However, whatever it is for you, it could be taking a longer shower, a longer bath, or changing your shower into a bath so you can soak not only your body but also your thoughts.

It could be as simple as walking from room to room in the office—a very straightforward change—but if you don't use your phone while you're walking, your mind will wander to the upcoming meeting, the call you were just on, the ideas that are floating around, and this will make you more creative. It could be as simple as waiting in line and just waiting in line, I don't know.

Perhaps getting a massage. You know, whatever you enjoy doing is what lets your mind wander—I adore this picture so much. A good piece of advice is to ask your masseuse to let you use a notepad during the session because you always have ideas that come to you and things are always incubating. Make sure to write them down so you can act on them later. However, I believe that following this in-depth examination of the research, we need to make two fundamental adjustments to our mental models of attention.

We think we need to fit in more; there is a lot of talk about "hustling," after all. I'm against working. I think that because I'm one of the laziest people you'll ever meet, I have so many ideas for writing and talking about. We don't need to incorporate more. We are doing too much, not enough. Because we are doing so much, our thoughts no longer wander. It hurts. This is the point at which our smartest thoughts and plans come to us. We require more room. As you might expect, the factor that allows traffic to move forward down a highway is not the speed at which cars are moving; rather, the amount of space between cars is the factor that allows traffic to move forward.

The way we live and work are the same. The second change is that we like to think that being distracted is bad for focus. Not at all. The fact that our minds are overstimulated is a sign that it is hard for us to concentrate. You have my challenge. It's a challenge that lasts for two weeks, but it's a challenge to simply notice: what happens to your attention? What number of thoughts do you get? How does your attention shift? What number of plans do you make? Therefore, for two weeks, reduce mental stimulation. There are so many great features on phones and other devices that will help us save a lot of time.

Make use of these features to not only learn more about how you spend your time but also where you can save money, giving you more ideas. Every evening, perform a ritual of disconnection. One of my number one everyday customs: I detach from the Web totally from 8pm to 8am. My life partner and I, we have a week after week separation custom, an innovation Sabbath each Sunday, so we can disengage from the computerized world and reconnect with the actual world, the genuine, real world. You don't have to do it for an hour to rediscover boredom.

Kindly don't call Air Canada. It's just a hellish world. However, just for a few minutes, rekindle boredom. Where do you go when you lay on the couch? and divert your focus. You'll discover a few strikingly productive things in that attentional zone. After conducting this in-depth investigation into how we focus, I have discovered that the state of our attention is what determines the state of our lives.

If we are constantly distracted, those moments of overstimulation and distraction build up to create a life that feels more disjointed and overwhelming, as if there is no clear direction. However, not only do we gain the advantages of increased productivity, focus, ideas, and creativity when we make our minds more calm and less stimulated, but we also live better lives as a result. I am so grateful.

studenthow to

About the Creator

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For Free

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (1)

  • Adam Dereje (Author)3 days ago

    thank you all.

ADWritten by Adam Dereje

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.