Education logo

How I Teach English Online and Travel the World.

A guide to landing an online teaching job that will allow you to live anywhere in the world.

By Emily WeissPublished 3 years ago 5 min read
14

I started teaching with VIPKID a little over two years ago. I had been sent LinkedIn messages about it countless times but ignored them for years. I met a woman while traveling, who informed me, that it was in fact a real job.

Having spent a good portion of my savings traveling that year, and not wanting to give it up, I decided to apply.

I will be honest. I felt ridiculous. I watched the example application videos. Along, with YouTube videos on how to pass the interview. It consisted of me

1.Talking slowly and I mean slowly...

2.Smiling the entire time

3, Repeatedly saying "good job"

4. Giving bananas to monkeys as a reward.

I remember my brother overhearing me and looking at me like I was crazy... But I passed. I have been able to keep traveling. I love my job. It was all worth it!!!

So here is what you need to know to pass:

Qualifications:

1.Bachelors Degree(Doesn't need to be in teaching)

2.Authorized to work in the U.S or Canada

3.Teaching experience(two years is recommended, but as long as you have experience working with children. I think you are fine)

4.Computer(It doesn't need to be super new, but it needs to work well)

5. Great Internet( If you can connect to a landline, do it)

Helpful Tips for passing the interview:

1.You will need a background. Make it look fun and inviting. You can do this with things around your house or with a few dollars at the dollar store.

2. Great Lighting: Bring out all of your lights. I use a selfie light on my computer, but don't spend money, until you pass the interview.

3. Props. They will show you an example demo video with a PowerPoint. The PowerPoint may talk about animals. If it talks about a lion, find a lion stuffed animal or lion cut out. They love props. If it talks about an apple, grab an apple from the fridge. Plan to use 5-10 props. A whiteboard is also great.

4.Reward: I reward the students every 5 minutes. This could be anything from different colored stars to Pokémon cards. It depends on what the student likes, but you must give them a reward.

5. Headset: Not everyone uses a headset, but they do want you to have something that provides clear sound and blocks the background noise. I have seen teachers use regular headphones and AirPods. I use a headset. It was the one thing I spent money on when applying.

6. Wear Orange: This isn't mandatory, but it helps. Dress for the job you want. Look professional. I wear bright red lipstick every class because it makes me look put together, even though I just rolled out of bed. Orange is the company color. It was recommended to wear orange. Honestly, once you are hired, you can wear whatever you want, but for the interview, if you have orange, it doesn't hurt!!

7.TPR: Total Physical Response. Basically, they want you to use your hands to explain. I cup my ear when I want the student to listen or talk. Anytime you can do a movement to explain, do it!! Remember this child doesn't know English. Use as few words as possible. Act out animal movements. Hold up a book to show that you want them to read. A microphone to talk. Don't ramble on. If you do talk, speak slowly with easy words.

8.Youtube Videos: I watched a lot of youtube videos when I was trying to pass the interview. There are 1000s out there. They help a lot. Watch a few, so you understand a little better. If you do all of these things and smile a lot, you will pass!!

9.Facebook Groups: I'm in a lot of VIPKID Facebook groups. They help if you have specific questions. You can also use the search button to see if any of your questions have been asked before.

Hours:

You teach 25-minute lessons. If you are in the United States, this means you teach early in the morning and late at night. I'm in Eastern Time and I typically teach from 4:00 a.m. to 8:00 am. I could technically teach from 8:00 p.m. to 8:00 am for the next day, but those hours don't always book and I need my sleep. There is a 12 hour time difference in China. For half of the year at least. They don't have daylight savings time. So 4:00 A.M here is 4:00 P.M there.

Pay

This depends on how well you do in the interview. Make sure you do all of the recommendations. I make 8 dollars for 25 minutes and then was given a 2 dollar extra per class. So 10 dollars for 25 minutes and 20 dollars for 50 minutes. They switched all this to a tier system. So basically I need to teach over 120 classes to make the 20 dollars an hour. This sucks, but it is what it is. If I teach more than 120 classes a month. I make more than 20 an hour. There is also a short-notice option. If a parent books a class and it starts in less than 24 hours, you get an additional 2 dollars per class. So 12 a lesson or 24 an hour. I get a few short notice classes every week.

I make around 12,000 a year. I do this job part-time, and I typically have other jobs throughout the year. This job allows me to make money while I travel. The cost of living is much less in other countries and the pay is more than enough. You could also make WAY more money. I just don't.

Application:

If you want to apply click this link:

https://www.vipkid.com/mkt/landing/personal?referralToken=65b8907ab4d014bb154e73263f37ed47&refereeId=28652566&channel_id=copy_link_pc

I do make some money from referring people. So if you enjoyed this article, and do apply, please spread the love and use the link or this code EMILY0916

Cambly

If you don't have a bachelor's degree or can't see yourself working with kids. I do work for a second company called Cambly. It's only $10 an hour, but you just teach English to adults. You mostly chat with them. It is super simple and you can work whenever you want.

https://www.cambly.com/invite/EMILY1544?st=041021&sc=4

If you have any questions. Feel free to message me on Instagram. Or simply follow me as a travel around the world :) If you liked this article please share and give it a like :)



how to
14

About the Creator

Emily Weiss

Traveler trying to change the world

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.