Wander logo

How to Travel Internationally during a Pandemic

A how to on traveling internationally to Colombia during a pandemic.

By Emily WeissPublished 3 years ago 4 min read
5
How to Travel Internationally during a Pandemic
Photo by Annie Spratt on Unsplash

If you are anything like me, you are itching to begin traveling again. In January, I finally took the plunge and booked my one-way ticket from Detroit, to Medellin, Colombia.

My goal was to travel back to Italy, but that wasn't going to happen. I researched and reached out to friends on Facebook groups, asking them what countries allowed international travel.

The top places that were mentioned were:

Colombia

Egypt

Turkey

Brazil

Puerto Rico

I decided on Colombia because I had a few friends here, the cost of living is cheap, and its a 3-hour flight back to the United States. This was comforting in case something was to happen to a family member.

Getting to Colombia

To enter Colombia, you need a Covid test. You might be able to get in without one, but I don't recommend it. If you do get in without one, you must quarantine for 14 days. They do not accept rapid tests. They want a PCR Test and it must say PCR and the date the test was taken. Heck, I even advise you to highlight where it says PCR and the date. This was checked 5 times.. At 5 different checkpoints. I printed my test and had it easily accessible.

My biggest issue was, I had a 6:00 A.M Monday morning flight. I was terrified that my test would not come back in time. To enter Colombia, you have a 96-hour window for the test. Normally not a problem, but my first Covid Test around Thanksgiving took almost a week to come back. I took my test that Friday and had my results via an app, by Sunday morning. It worked out. I talked to many Covid Test sites, asking how long their test results were taking. I went with the one with the quickest turnover.

Before my flight. I also had to go online and submit a travel form stating the important details of my trip. I could only fill this out 48 hours prior to my flight. I flew Spirit and they sent me the email with directions on filling out this form. I recommend filling it out on the computer. I could not get mine to submit on my phone. It took around ten minutes. They need your passport number and the address you will be staying at. I also recommend printing the address you will be staying at. If you don't speak Spanish, this will make things way easier for you.

Flight

The actual flight was extremely smooth. Many stores and restaurants at the airport are closed, so plan accordingly. You must wear a mask. Pack one that is comfortable to wear on long flights. I recommend purchasing face wipes. I am not someone who struggles with acne, but let me tell you.... After flying and hot Colombian weather, sweating and wearing a mask, is not great for your complexion.

Entering Colombia

My temperature was checked multiple times throughout this journey. Be prepared to sanitize your hands and don't be shocked when people spray you down in alcohol spay. My shoes and hands get sprayed with alcohol every day, multiple times a day. Maybe, this is a thing in the U.S, but I came from a small town in Michigan, where this never happened. I always keep my passport on me. I get asked to show it before entering stores and bars.

Living Here During a Pandemic

Honestly, living here is great. If you are worried about Covid, Colombia has some of the best hospitals in South America and even the world. I had a face rash my first week. I paid 25 dollars and met with a doctor via zoom. She wrote me prescriptions for medications, but I didn't even need them. You can get most drugs at the pharmacy without a doctor's note. It's so crazy... Someone also came to my house and took my blood for testing. I didn't even need to leave my apartment... I think I paid around 34 dollars without insurance for this. Everyone wears masks here. It is mandatory. I have been here a month without issues.

So long story short, if you are thinking about international travel, these are the hoops you will need to jump through. It wasn't all too difficult for me. It was more the stress and anxiety about the unknowns of getting here, that scared me. I wish you all luck. XOXO

Feel free to follow me on Instagram as I travel Colombia :)

female travel
5

About the Creator

Emily Weiss

Traveler trying to change the world

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.