Education logo

How I Passed the Ohio Real Estate Board on the First Try!

A Guide to Success

By Save Money with AmandaPublished 6 years ago 3 min read

When I decided it was time to take my state boards, I had been out of real estate classes for ONE WHOLE YEAR! A lot of the information seemed like a distant memory.

I was so nervous going to take my Ohio Real Estate State Boards. A lot of my nerves came from teachers, co-workers, and various realtors telling me not to get discouraged if I do not pass on the first try. I felt like they put in my mind I was not going to pass. I was set up for failure.

Where I live in Ohio, 1 out of 10 realtors pass the test the first time and 6 out of 10 pass the second. To pass, you must correctly answer at least 70% of each portion. Now, that doesn't seem hard, until you realize how much missing one question can affect your overall score. DO NOT LET IT SCARE YOU!

Some of the best known realtors did not pass the State boards the first time, but I DID!

I am going to let you in to what I did to pass my state boards the first time!

CompuCram

Real Estate Sales Exam Prep

There were a lot of teachers and realtors who mentioned using CompuCram as a great way to study. Some saying they purchased it after failing and it helped them pass the second time.

Common knowledge of these testimonies told me to purchase CompuCram's Real Estate Sales Exam Prep. I paid the $99 and immediately started using the program. I found myself very disappointed in my purchase.

Although people swore it worked for them, I found it unless. Maybe it's me, but I feel like it has too much information to study. A lot of the information it "crams" in your brain is not even on the exam.

In my Opinion, CompuCram supplied a lot of useless information, drowning out the information you really needed to know to pass your exam.

Don't get me wrong, there are a lot of people that really liked the program, but I personally felt like it was too much information, and a waste of $99.

After I stopped wasting time on CompuCram, I went to the real source that helped me pass my test the first time.

PSI

Candidate Information Bulletin

I decided the best form of study was going to come from the direct source. If you go to PSI's Candidate Information Bulletin, you will find an outline for the Ohio Real Estate State Boards on page 8-12. NOT ONLY does it supply the outline, IT TELLS YOU exactly how many questions are from each category on the exam!

I followed this outline, line for line, creating a more detail outline explaining the information it supplied. Not only does it give you a great outline of study, but it creates the ULTIMATEform of study.

Not only did I remember the information better, as I worked to answer each item on the outline, but I created an easy and organized guide for myself.

I went through my outline the night before, and i just kept reading each topic over and over. I tended to spend more time on the categories that had more questions on the actual exam.

PSI

Practice Test for Ohio Real Estate Sales Exam

PSI also supplies a practice test for the Ohio Real Estate Sales Exam. I HIGHLY RECOMMEND!

For $19.95, you can purchase a practice test directly from the source of the the exam! Using $100, I decided to take the practice test 5 times. My goal was to increase my score every time! Some of the questions I came across on the practice test, were ON THE ACTUAL EXAM!

After you complete your practice test, they send your results with the correct answers. I used this as a form of study, right along with my PSI detailed outline.

Real Estate Math

Gold Coast Schools Channel on YouTube

When it came to refreshing myself on the math portion of the Real Estate Exam, I looked to YouTube!

I came across this channel named Gold Coast Schools. It supplied all the information I needed for the math sections of the exam! It was organized and detailed! It provided an easy outline on different formulas, and easy to follow tutorials.

How I Passed the Real Estate Exam—the First Time

I realize taking the Ohio Real Estate State Boards can be scary, but it doesn't have to be. Go in there confident! I was out of school for a year before I took my state exam, and didn't study until the month my exam was to be scheduled.

Using PSI's resources and YouTube's Real Estate Sources, I passed my exam the first time. Do not let other programs cloud your head. You only need the knowledge to pass the exam, the rest can stay in the book!

I hope this guide helps you pass your Ohio Real Estate Exam, the way it did for me!

Good luck!

how to

About the Creator

Save Money with Amanda

I love saving money and helping others save money! I decided to start blogging about deals and money saving! All readers tips are appreciated!

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For Free

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

    Save Money with AmandaWritten by Save Money with Amanda

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.