Education logo

Focusing Your Hustle

It's not about the outside Focus. It's about the Inside Hustle.

By LATANYA N CHATFIELDPublished 3 years ago 4 min read
1
GraceGuidance Media

I love the mind. The most powerful thing we own, or for some, think we own, is situated at the top of our bodies. You know why? Because this is where it all begins and begins again for us each and every day. The mind never stops its purpose. It reminds me of the Lamb Chop Play-Along Song That Doesn't End. I'd like to change the words to; One day we started thinking, not knowing the power it absorbs, and the mind just keeps on going forever just because.........

Okay, I am a novice songwriter.

Your mind never stops and it is the best hustler I know. Your mind can think you out or into something before you even get out of bed. It is your #1 assistant because all ideas, solutions, creations take up residents in the mind. So, let me ask you a question?

What Is Your Mind Hustling You About?

Depending on mental diets, a lot can be going on in a person's mind at one time or another. It can be quite overwhelming. Very overwhelming, especially if you are a person such as myself that has a lot of ideas and wants to see them all happen RIGHT NOW. You could also be that person that thinks and rethink and push those thoughts back to never do anything at all. A reason or excuse always spoils the commencement day. So what do we do? How do we escape the very thing that works more overtime than anybody you know. You tell it what to focus on.

Focus, Breathe, Flow, Repeat

Everyone is competing for the attention of your mind. Even you, but that is another post we'll get into someday. The only person that is not consciously competing, is you. Your mind goes where it is told to go because that is its job. To store information give it to you as the focus sees fit. Whatever gets the focus is how you will be steered in thinking so why not program your mind to go where you want it to go?

It took years for me to understand this. I had multiple ideas and I could not complete one, but every time I sat with that idea another one would come. So, just like a baby I would break away from whatever I was doing and follow that idea. When I begin to focus my thoughts, the hustling within, I began to see different results. I began to act on my ideas and see them all the way through to implementation. This made me very happy. I was now a creator in the space where I actually saw my creation and not only dream about them.

I will admit this was very hard. It took an extreme amount of determination and discipline to consistently see progress in taking control of where my focus was flowing. Many days I would get frustrated because I had become very comfortable with the way things were. Even though I did not like the results. Redirecting my thoughts became a conscious decision of change that I really wanted in my life. There was a battle within my mind of the things I had experienced and was currently allowing through my eyes daily. So, I had to make a decision. You have to make a decision. What do you want to flow in your life?

Time Outs Are For Minds

There is no way you will ever quiet your mind to the point of silence. If you do, stay away from me because I know that is not what is meant to happen while still being alive. What can happen is you changing a few routines to help you cut back on the hustling in your mind. There is so much information out there and we want it all, but if we just cut back a little we can manage what we intake.

First, find the things you want to see results manifest in your life. Second, do this by putting your mind in time out daily. Set aside some time to just relax into yourself and find some beauty in the madness. Third, eliminate all hustling that does not support the goal. Continue to redirect your thoughts back to your goal ( harder than it sounds, but very achievable). Fourth, take action and do not hesitate because the actions will produce your next steps.

Take your time with these steps. With each one, you will be building a strong mind to focus on the things you want to focus on. You will become very comfortable with saying no to anything that will try to infiltrate your goals for your life.

Easy Right?

I don't know about you but I want to be able to think in a way that doesn't produce complacency. The complacency that I can never get anything done because my mind is all over the place. It doesn't have to be this way. It just takes a little bit of effort and a whole lot of patience to get the results that you want. The best thing is, is that you will see your life change drastically and wonder why you let your mind hustle you out of that great idea that is now making some other person happy or rich!

how to
1

About the Creator

LATANYA N CHATFIELD

I love to write all genres and teach my kids that they can do and be anything at any time in their lives.

Check out some of my other stories, short reads, thoughts on my podcast website: https://lovingyourselftolife51725778.wordpress.com/

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.