Education logo

Five Engaging Learning Apps To Help Kids Study

Not just for kids, but for adults too!

By DaphsamPublished 3 months ago 3 min read
5
Five Engaging Learning Apps To Help Kids Study
Photo by Brett Jordan on Unsplash

When my kids go to school, we always look for online apps to support their studies. With different ways of studying due to learning needs, I wanted to ensure they had apps that could help and make school life a little easier.

These five apps are not only for your students and children but can also be for you!

Quizlet

Quizlet is one of the best online study aides. Not only can you make your virtual note cards, but there is also an extensive library of user-generated study sets.

Quizlet is incredibly helpful and time-saving for the student. Your students can learn immediately using premade study materials created by other students and educators.

Also, Quizlet allows users to share their study sets with other peers, which develops a sense of community learning.

The site offers multiple languages, making it a helpful tool for language learners. It has a user-friendly interface that you can access on your iPhone or iPad, making it easy for students to study anywhere and anytime.

If you or your student is a visual learner, you can upload or find images that depict the vocabulary word. The photos were awesome for me, and the kids were visual learners. We used this feature for vocabulary, history, science, and foreign languages.

The paided membership gives you more tests, quizzes, and learning modes.

You don't need to be going to school to use Quizlet. I once used this to help me learn all the rules of golf before entering a tournament.

Link here: Quizlet

Duolingo

I had always wanted to learn a foreign language. But with my dyslexia, that was extremely hard. Not with Duolingo! This user-friendly app makes learning a foreign language tons of fun.

It breaks down the language into bite-size lessons with repetition through colorful graphics. This app makes it easy to learn. There is a lot you can get for the free version of Duolingo.

Yes, a membership fee gives you no ads and more insight into your learning.

I wish I had discovered it when my kids were learning Spanish; it would have made our lives much more manageable.

Duolingo Link

Khan Academy

Khan Academy is a wonderful resource for learners. All ages can use this for math, science, history, and more. The way this site breaks down the subjects with comprehensive instructional videos helps to foster understanding.

For every section, there are detailed descriptions to help reinforce learning.

Personally, Khan Academy saved my kids in school for math. The math videos are probably the best out there. If your child's textbook or notes need to line up. Go to Khan- it will help you and your child piece it back together. The best part of this- is that it 100% free to use.

Khan Academy link

BrainPop

Oh, boy, did this help my son and me get through middle school history. It's another site that uses vibrant colors and fun cartoons to explain challenging and tedious concepts in history, science, and math.

Not only do you get to watch videos, but Brain Pops also offers quizzes. My son didn't even realize he was studying. He was having fun, and that made learning more accessible.

The first two months are free, but then there is a subscription for it.

BrainPop Link

AppBlock

It might not be the flashiest app, but it's a lifesaver for keeping kids focused. My daughter found this app when she saw that distractions from social media were hurting her studies.

I can't tell you how proud I was when my daughter told me about this app!

This app will help you avoid getting distracted by the latest news from social media apps- God, we know there are many. You can use this on your iPhone, iPad, or computer for work. Free to use.

AppBlock Link

Hopefully, these apps will help you or your student study more effectively and less complicatedly at home.

If you have a different app that you find helpful, please share.

This was originally posted on Medium.

teacherstudentproduct reviewlist
5

About the Creator

Daphsam

Loving Wife, Mom, Dog Mom- A Dyslexic dreamer who never thought I could read or write. But life changed, and I conquered my fears. I am an artist, photographer, wordsmith and illustrator. Looking to weave stories and poems with my artwork.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (4)

Sign in to comment
  • Abdul Qayyum3 months ago

    very informative article

  • Mariann Carroll3 months ago

    I wish they had this when my daughter was little. Great information for parents

  • Excellent selection. I'm familiar with Khan.

  • Mark Graham3 months ago

    All good apps to use. One thing I have been trying to write for Quizlet but cannot seem to find out how to apply.

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.