Education logo

ESL Teaching: Interview Questions II

Teaching in Asia

By HeetaPublished 4 months ago 3 min read
Like

Some of the questions are generic in the sense that I have been asked these questions in fields completely unrelated to teaching. I am still including the ones that I think are pertinent to teaching because the questions may be the same, but the answer isn't. Also, please go ahead and watch part one because part II came about because I didn't include these questions in part I.

  • Part I: video
  • Part II: You're already here ^^
  • "Questions you should ask" article video

1. What are your future goals? What are your professional goals? What are personal goals? Where do you see yourself in five years?

This is one of those common questions you will find in many jobs. But your answer will depend on the context of the job you're applying for. It would be quite strange (it shouldn't be, but it is percieved in that manner) if I said that I wanted to pursue culinary while teaching. Because the fact of the matter is schools in my environment are looking for permanent or long-term teachers. Saying that I want to pursue a teaching license or more qualifications within the field, makes more sense.

2. What are some things you need to teach _____________?

  • Young learners: patience, energy, and TPR
  • Elementary-aged learners: all of the above, and more patience because this stage of growth for kids can be quite varying.
  • Teenagers/Adult learners: patience, respect, a higher knowledge or skillset in grammar
  • Japan/Korea : Respect for the culture and more
  • Eikawas/Hagwons: Flexibility and more
  • Public School: Punctuality and more

3. What does your lesson plan look like? How would you design it?

From experience 60 mins is the most common class style that I have taught. But for interview purpose, a 30-minute lesson plan would be okay, unless the interviewer gives you a specific time. Note, that this is not a demo. You're simply describing your plan to the interviewer.

4. How do you handle constructive feedback?

Just be honest, give an example of when you got constructive feedback and what did you do at the time.

5. How do you handle a conflict with your co-worker?

This is a very person-to-person dependent answer. Be a problem-solver and not the problem, I guess.

6. How do you handle a conflict with your disruptive student?

This is a very school-to-school dependent answer. Follow the policy of the school with discipline, if it doesn't work ask the higher-ups for help.

7. Why do you want to leave your current job?

I can afford to be honest, because I've left without conflict for the most part.

8. What does this __________ mean to you?

It can be very random. So, good luck!

  • Primary education
  • Transdisciplinary theme
  • Student-centered education

9. What do you want your students to get from your lesson?

Depends on teacher-to-teacher. Be honest, you want to work in a school where you're comfortable and don't have to change you're entire teaching style.

10. Why do you want to work with children?

The only acceptable answer is that you enjoy working with them. Ideally, this would be true.

11. What do you expect from us?

I think this question is slightly different from "Do you have any questions from us" even if your answers are more or less the same for both. I personally found that the first one makes me more confident and welcome to ask 'uncomfortable' questions. Or it could just be me.

X

    I have given countless interviews in teaching, and even more when including other jobs. I am at a stage in my career where I am comfortable simply "winging" an interview. There are several reasons for this. If I study and prepare, it feels like a test (and I do not enjoy tests). I rather prefer to percieve interviews to be just a conversation. And I rarely go into any conversation "preparing" for it. But I do have to admit, practice makes perfect.

    The main thing I wanted to say was that always think of interviews as stepping stones towards landing onto something, rather than one interview one job. In other words, 2+ interviews will eventually get you somewhere. With teaching job interviews the formula in my opinion is friendliness, confidence, honesty, and energy.

    Other than that keep trying, and you'll have it in the bag!

    Adios Amigos ^^

teacherlistinterviewhow to
Like

About the Creator

Heeta

Books are a passion. Fashion is a hobby. Sociology is my accomplishment. And thus, I bring you, a little bit of this, and a little bit of that. #Unedited #Freestyle #Wordvomit

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.