Education logo

Education Majors, Their Insight

Personal Philosophy of Education

By Madi AdriannaPublished 7 years ago 4 min read

“What a child is taught, is what they become.” This is a quote, in my eyes, that reflects a teacher’s job description. When a child is taught all of the core subjects, they automatically have one that speaks to them which later becomes their life’s work. If one teacher can make that huge of an impact on a student’s life, then knowledge truly is power. The process of teaching and learning involves the concept of give and take. The teacher gives and takes that information in order to give away to another. Anyone can teach and learn information, but it’s the way how to approach the relationship in classroom with the students. The relationships between students and teachers are important because children will learn better if they feel as if they have a connection to someone they can trust. Without teachers we would not have doctors, lawyers, police officers, accountants, or scientists.

The Nature of Learners

Everyone is capable of learning new information, but how they learn it is what makes them unique. Some students learn visually, some students learn audibly, and some students learn physically. Which leads to existentialism: primary emphasis is on the individual. As a philosophy of education, existentialism contends that teachers teach the whole person, not just math, reading, science, or any other particular subject. When I am a teacher I will make sure that students comprehend the material, meaning I will help them learn in any way they comprehend the best.

Teaching/Your Role as a Teacher

Teachers need to be able to not only teach the core curriculum but also be able to help the students when they are struggling. Some students feel afraid to go up to a teacher to ask for help, so I would make it part of my responsibility to make sure to let my students know that it is okay to ask or if they have any concerns. I would not want my students to be afraid to come up to me, and let them suffer from it because I did not notice there was something wrong. As a teacher it is my responsibility to help students learn, but there can be times when the student teaches me or even other students a lesson.

Schools

Schools are very significant in a student’s education. If the school does not support their students, then they feel as if they can not achieve. Even though schools are a place for teachers to help students, it does not mean that parents can’t help them as well. Most children always say that they do not enjoy school, but in reality they enjoy the escape of home. Schools are not just a place where someone comes to learn, but a place where someone can see as their second home.

The Role of Others

Children tend to mimic what they see, and if they see the people who are with them most hours of the day do something to help with the school then they would want to help also and put more effort into their learning. If parents contribute more to their children’s schools and the students were to be aware of this action, then more students would be eager to do the same and make a difference. For example, social reconstructionism is a philosophy of education that looks to education to change society, rather than just teach about it. Parents and teachers can change the view of society for children by standing together as one community.

Knowledge

Knowledge is something that everyone has. What is worth knowing is that we live in a place where anyone has the choice to learn more.

The Purpose of Education

The purpose of education is to simply gain more knowledge. Without education people would be lost. Society would not have the government.

The Content You Will Select

The content I will select to be in my classroom is not only the core subjects but also moral values. Children can learn so much more in the classroom, if they are receiving the right education.

The Skills You Expect Your Students to Develop

Some skills I hope my students will develop are respect for others, being creative and using their imagination, and be able to want to learn more no matter their age.

Methods You Expect to Utilize to Accomplish Your Goals

At first, I will try different methods to see which will work best with my class as a whole, then if I see that some of my students are pertaining well to my methods then I will try something else.

By trying different methods it will help me accomplish my goals because my ultimate goal is to help students feel as if they are eager to learn and that a school can be a place where students are allowed to freely explore their learning habits. In my personal experience, I have learned that a teacher who tries different methods of teaching can be helpful. I had several teachers at my high school who tried various styles of teaching just to help the students, such as instead of just lecturing they would create a competition out of it or write short stories about the medieval era.

Conclusion

Earlier I stated the explanation of my personal beliefs about the nature of learning, my role as a teacher, schools, and how others play a role in education. I also talked about the definition of knowledge to me and the purpose of education. And lastly, I spoke about my methods I plan to use in the future as an educator. My current level of commitment as a future teacher is that I think children deserve educators who are loyal, compassionate, strict, and willing to take responsibility about teaching them what they need to know. I want to be that person. I believe that teaching is a noble job to be a part of and I am glad I get to be a part of that community.

student

About the Creator

Madi Adrianna

I am an Elementary Education major at Northwestern State University. i would love to be a first or second grade teacher in the future. Twitter: @skips2016 Instagram: madiadrianna

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For Free

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

    Madi AdriannaWritten by Madi Adrianna

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.