Education logo

Does the baby want to keep a pet? Let's see if we're the same, willing but afraid

As a three-fourths "miserly" mom, I rarely hesitated to respond to a request or a question.

By TestPublished 2 years ago 10 min read
Like

Yes, yes, no, no.

Only then, years ago, more than 5 years old baby suddenly asked, Mom, I can raise a kitten? Beg you!

I looked at the baby's eyes and suddenly felt like a piece of cotton in my throat. I wanted to say something, but I couldn't...

Just during the Chinese New Year, big J took the baby to pay New Year's greetings, small D also fell in love with the relatives of the cat, in the end do you want to keep a cat? Big J in the public number to everyone for help, rolling messages, gave me the courage to mention this matter......

Can we let the baby have a kitten? These stories are the reason why I can't answer the question.

The little cat afraid to go near the door

My first few years out of college were the darkest days of my life.

My family experienced great changes and was forced to wander around the country for a time, from one temporary worker to the next temporary rental house, and when I was finally able to return home, I was left alone.

The house was empty, and every day it became more and more messy.

On that summer's thunderstorm night, my friend rescued a small black cat from the heavy rain on the roadside. It looked like it had just been weaned and was shivering all over. Seeing people, it was not afraid at all, and almost directly rushed to their feet for help.

My friend's family has no conditions to keep a cat, so I asked if I could adopt it.

I remember rushing through my heart with a fierce rush of heat: My cat and I were in company!

Friends came to the cat's aid, bringing in cat food, litter, cans, litter, litter and toys, but I soon discovered that this was not what the cat needed.

Kitten dare not sleep on their own, must be crowded with me to sleep, and put at the feet, put in the quilt is not good, it must be around my neck, face close to my face, feel my breath on its face, dare to sleep.

I would go out to work during the day, and he would chase me out the door, but as soon as he got close to the door, he would bounce back like an electric shock, never even coming near the door.

I would try to pick her up and walk out the door, and she would spasm and hiss.

He must have slipped out of the house on that stormy night, utterly terrified by the outside world, and never came near the house again, never willing to leave his master.

I felt guilty every day of that time.

Like every time you go out, abandoned it once, every day to helplessly watching the kitten chasing me, desperately, but dare not cry loudly toward me, chasing to the position near the door, and afraid of circling in circles, looking at me really step out of the door, its big eyes immediately filled with tears.

In less than half a month, I fell apart. I thought that I could be alone with the cat and comfort each other, but I found that I, with the wound in my heart, had no strength to heal the wound of another life.

The friend found another owner for the kitten, and the couple raised 2 Labradors and 3 cats. When they came to pick up the kitten, the two big dogs came to the door personally. I thought the kitten would be very afraid, but the two gentle dogs soon licked it like it was back in the mother's arms...

For many years I dared not think of Kitten again, and I believed that she had found a happy home.

When the wound in your heart is still bleeding, is not able to love others, this is the cat dare not close to the door, taught me love.

 

Neighbors, too, are part of the story

No matter how much life throws at us, there's always a time to get back on track.

During the last relatively stable period of her life that my mother and I spent together, our family welcomed a special pet -- piglet.

Yes, it was very popular to keep little black and white fragrant pigs as pets in those years.

▲ From the QQ space archeological photos (full sense of time slag picture quality)

I am a pig, so in a treasure to see pet shop advertising, can not help but look for a long time, my mother also followed me to see for a long time, suddenly one day, she said behind me, want to raise it, as long as it is a small pig, will not feed feeding suddenly grow into a big boar on the line.

This surprised me.

When I was a child my aunt's house had a lot of cats, in my plea, my mother also brought back to raise, but always less than a few months, the cat made trouble, my mother impatiently put the cat back to my aunt's house.

I mean, if you don't want to keep this for a while, there's no place to send it back.

Let's raise them ourselves, she answered calmly.

So, my home more than a pig.

When first picked up from the airport, the pig was as long as my TV remote control. It was so cute that it had hard nails on its trotters and occasionally slipped on our waxed wood floor.

In winter, standing in the sun under the window, basking in the comfortable doze, but also suddenly at the foot of a slip almost slip, funny.

The seller assures that the piglet is actually very clean and smarter than the dog, but it's also a bit interesting.

The pig entered my house, determined where his nest is, has been determined to run to the furthest away from its nest, my mother's bedroom to poop and pee......

Later, after my mother's repeated training, I learned to go to the bathroom to relieve myself.

I also often take the pig out for a walk, when the weather is cold to buy him puppy clothes and shoes to keep out the cold, of course, everywhere is the focus.

▲ Take the pig for a walk. He likes to smell in one place for a long time

The seller said that in order to control the size of the pig, it should not be left to eat freely, regular and quantitative feeding every day, give some rice + vegetables, occasionally add fruit on the line.

But want to control the pig's appetite, it is a how not easy thing ah, as long as no one in the home, the pig began to rumble around to find food, what trash cans, drawers, low cabinets are rumble, what tea, books, I go to school when the notebook, can chew it all dare to eat in the stomach.

The biggest suspense of raising a small pig is -- in the end this pig will not develop a big boar.

My family has been at home for almost a year. It is still a little smaller than a normal small dog, but it does weigh a lot more.

But this little pig, still can't stay in my house all the time, because of the pig's cry.

"That sounds worse than killing a pig!"

This sentence, the original is not false, although the pig size is very small, but called in full, is really not happy to call up, such as rummaging can not find any food, he called up to alarm the whole unit of neighbors.

When he was a child, he did not love to call, a few months later, it is probably sexually mature, the pig's temper is increasingly irritable, a call will not stop, after the birth control operation, the temper is slowly better, but this love to call the problem is more and more severe.

Finally one day, the upstairs aunt to find, her wife's coronary heart disease made, the operation was finished, the doctor said must rest, the pig's cry, it is too noisy.

My home lives in my mother's unit self-built community, the courtyard is almost know 20 or 30 years of old colleagues, old neighbors, each other's home situation probably also know, aunt said is the truth.

My mother and I thought of a lot of ways, but the pig can wear the dog's clothes and shoes, but can not take the dog's muzzle, with the kind of pet dog prepared, a call on the trace electric shock collar, but will stimulate the pig called more like to kill the pig...

So toss around a circle, upstairs aunt every day to ask the situation, finally, the pig was finally sent away.

On the outskirts of the city, to a burgeoning resort farm, with lots of animals and eco-vegetables for the kids to take on weekends.

Piglet left small half a year later, I returned to Beijing Alma mater to read graduate school, graduate school less than a semester, my mother diagnosed uterine cancer, passed away in the New Year's day over the New Year, when I was less than 30 years old.

I don't think about Piglet very much now, because when I do, I think about the time I spent with my mother, the last warmth and peace of her life.

My "pet" was eaten

When my son wanted to get a cat, we discussed it in our work group.

Big J said, she remembered when she was a child raised a special love of ducklings, later killed to cook soup......

How many children born in the 1980s and 1990s have experienced the horror of eating their pets? Why does this happen?

That day, it occurred to me that this might not be the case:

In the eyes of parents, these are originally raised to cook soup "meat";

But in the eyes of the child, it is to play with me every day, my dear friend;

We didn't tell each other what I thought, what you thought, and probably never felt that it needed to be discussed...

Everyone's opinion can be different, including how to view the pet matter, within the scope of daily life, it does not need to be measured by "right or wrong";

But if we really communicate about it before we get a puppy, kitten, or duckling, we can love more and regret less with our pets.

This is the love I've learned from losing pets as I live into my late 30s.

The answer...

When the child asked me if I could have a kitten, I didn't know what to say.

In my nearly 40 years of life, there are not only these three pet stories, but also the silkworm baby that my teacher asked me to keep when I was young. Passing under the bridge, bought a small chicken, duckling; A hamster brought to the classroom by a classmate; Cousin raised slow lorises, turtles and big spiders.

In all of these stories, each little life has left a mark on my life, allowing me to experience or learn something about love and life that no human can teach me.

I hope, of course, that my children, too, will have the opportunity to experience a richer, wider world than the concrete jungle of the two-legged beast.

But in all my stories, we didn't make it to the end with the animals.

I almost never feel indebted to another person, because I firmly believe that the first responsibility for each person's life is their own, in the human joys and sorrows, human beings have the freedom of choice, have the ability to work.

But little animals, there's no choice.

Am I really ready to welcome another life into my life and be as responsible for them as I am for my own children?

If I tell these stories to my children, will they understand my struggles, or will they want a pet more?

What about you?

What kind of stories about animals do you have that you would tell your children?

how to
Like

About the Creator

Test

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

Test is not accepting comments at the moment

Want to show your support? Send them a one-off tip.

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.