Education logo

An Important Spiritual Lesson for Motorcyclists

Spiritual Lesson for motorcyclists

By Aftab VAUPublished about a year ago 4 min read
Like

Have you ever created a mental image that you are certain you won’t forget? A lesson, an image, or a jolt from life can occasionally leave a lasting memory that lasts a lifetime. This is a tale of a straightforward act of kindness that occurred more than 30 years ago and had an irreparable effect on me, both materially and spiritually.

I was riding my motorcycle from Vancouver Island to California in November of last year to attend a three-day training course. The early-winter storms seemed to be occurring elsewhere, so the weather was good for my trip. The ride back along the coast of California, Oregon, and Washington was breathtaking.

I pondered prior travels as I rode south. I thought back to a motorbike trip I took by myself in the year I first became a grandfather. (click here for crazy rims)

A blind man and two boys

I traveled across Mexico and Central America on that specific trip, which began in Eastern Canada. I stopped at the central market in a town whose name I can’t recall while meandering across Southern Mexico. A masonry wall that was five feet high and had multiple openings surrounded the market. In the heart of the city, the market took up an entire city block.

The shade of the trees in the market square was calling due to the 90 degree heat in the middle of the afternoon. I positioned my bike next to a wall opening and was ready to move toward the cover.

Although the market appeared to be fairly active, the walkway outside the wall was largely empty. Two boys, aged 8 or 9, were standing by the wall waiting with a shoeshine box. A man was calmly leaning against the wall about 30 meters further along the sidewalk with a tin cup and a white cane. Nobody else could be seen.

I questioned why the boys weren’t attending class. They were extremely underprivileged, and as many children in Mexico and Central America at the time were employed, I figured they had to work.

Later, I learned that certain villages in Southern Mexico had school hours from 8 to 10 in the morning, with classes starting again about 6 in the evening. The lads may have attended school, but it’s also plausible that they worked while they had a siesta. I’ll never be certain.

Some time later, when I got back from the market, the lads were putting their shoe polish box in storage. I figured they had finished for the day.

However, before they returned home, they went to the blind man and gave him some of their paltry earnings. They seemed to think that he was much more in need than they were. (check this for surprise)

The Impact

I saw a glimpse of true generosity of spirit at that time when I witnessed the less fortunate sharing what little they had with the even less fortunate out of a genuine act of kindness. It was merely a mechanical action. It was a huge act of faith. It was a genuine community effort. Wow!

That incident affected my heart and spirit deeply. It was a turning point in my personal spiritual journey. Even now, more than thirty years later, as I think back on the incident, tears are blurring my eyesight.

On that day, I discovered something about the enormous spirit of kindness that people possess. I discovered that kindness has nothing to do with our financial situation. Every time I give, every time I hesitate to give, every time I receive, I can’t help but think about those lads. Every time we have the chance to give or receive, I want you to join me in thinking of the tale of the two boys and the blind man. (men’s thing)

My impression is that we should take action when we encounter experiences like this. In our daily lives, we receive advice from a variety of sources. In my situation, it was brought on by the deeds of two helpless youngsters. Is there a lesson in the tale of the two boys and the blind man for you as well? If so, consider what steps you can take right away. Do it now!

#aftabvau

travelteacherlisthow todegreecoursescollege
Like

About the Creator

Aftab VAU

Like to read and write. and love to gather knowladge as much as i can...

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.