Education logo

5 Things to Keep Top of Mind When Job Searching

Make a more informed decision on the next step in your career path with some of these tips!

By Li-Li 📓Published 9 months ago • 7 min read
Like

There’s a meme I saw recently that said, “There are two really stressful times in life. One is when you have a job, the other is when you don’t have a job.” This is pretty relatable to the majority of us and personally I’ve found myself being overworked, undervalued, and completely burnt out while working, as well as when I have been in the middle of looking for a new job.

I have been in situations before where it has taken longer than I expected to get my foot in the door for an initial interview. I remember being somewhat shocked–in many cases these employers listed specific things in the job description: Must have a bachelor’s degree. (Check.) Must have a bachelor’s degree in Communications. (Double check.) Must have prior experience. (Yep.) Bonus points for specific experience using platforms like Zendesk, Slack, Google Suite… (That’s me!) Yet I was continuously getting looked over and passed up for other candidates. What more could these employers be looking for? In some cases I held the exact title on my resume for the roles these employers were hiring for!

So, after polling some friends and exploring the internet for why this may be the case, (aka asking “are other people having as hard of a time finding a job as I am?”) I learned that there’s a few key factors to keep in mind when applying for that next job. Originally, I went looking for reasons why employers are passing up on many qualified candidates. However, I soon discovered a lot about the importance of being more selective in what I was looking for in my next career move.

Here are five of those things to keep in mind during your job search.

1. Make sure you update your resume and cover letter.

No matter the type of job you’re applying for and what the employer is looking for, having an updated resume might sound like an obvious first step. Imagine my surprise when I learned that many people are applying to jobs using a job finder profile like ZipRecruiter or LinkedIn that has a resume and cover letter saved/pre-loaded for them. This is helpful in regards to being quick to apply for jobs, but the resume or cover letter you have saved on file could be outdated. Making sure you have the most up-to-date resume is crucial.

Cover letters should have a basic structure outlining more details about previous experience and skills pertaining to that job, but be sure to customize these cover letters to be specific to the job you’re applying to! It shows that not only do you understand the role as it relates to your specific skills and experience, but that you took the time to cater it to the job description.

It’s also important to keep in mind that many companies use smart systems to filter through applications; actual human eyes are never looking at your resume! Be sure to use specific keywords from the role description itself, as well as any relevant hard or soft skills and certifications you have.

2. It’s OK to pass up on a job if there is NO pay transparency.

Most employers nowadays are very aware of listing the salary in the job description. Some may choose not to do this, and it does depend on the state the job is located in, but if that’s the case, they should acknowledge that this deters many would-be candidates from applying. When I look for a job, I want to know what to expect in terms of pay because it’s important. It can often feel like a waste of time for the job searchers as well as the employers if pay is not listed.

I’ve come across countless job postings asking for a lot of details about the applicant, in some cases going so far as to ask for assignments to be completed before any kind of pay details are listed or an initial interview is offered–why would any person of sound mind do this when there is no pay transparency to be found? The employer can't be bothered to list the salary for the job? It can be frustrating and seen as counterproductive to keep this information hidden. Even if the job description aligns with what you’re looking for, just be aware of what other things the employer might not be so upfront about, and if it's possible, take the time to research for salary reviews on sites like Glassdoor or Indeed.

3. Being turned down for a job is NOT a reflection of you or your work ethic.

I struggled with this one–I was being turned down countless times by entry level positions I was qualified for and starting to feel very discouraged. I had to remind myself that there was nothing wrong with the jobs I’ve had or how I was advocating for myself. I felt confident in my abilities to present myself well, and each cover letter I wrote showed that I took the time to call out specific and relevant skills that matched what the employer was looking for. I had to accept the fact that the job just wasn’t for me, and that other candidates were probably more experienced and qualified than I was. Regardless of this, we need to remember to push through and keep moving forward if we don’t get the outcome we initially hoped for.

4. Employers can be VERY picky and indecisive — most of the time, it has nothing to do with you.

In one of the jobs I applied for, I was very excited when I was asked to come in for an interview after initially being told they were not looking for anyone to fill the role originally. I felt proud of myself that they took another look at my resume, cover letter, and portfolio of work, and that it made enough of a difference for them to invite me in to meet with the hiring manager and team. The hiring manager asked me a lot of questions to get to know me, introduced me to the team, and gave me an office tour. She asked how soon I could start, and if it was OK with me that she took some time to build a role catered to my specific skills. I was more than thrilled! However after a week of no follow-up communication from her, I reached out. The hiring manager told me that she decided to hold off on the role and would just train someone internally. “Best of luck in your job search!” the email ended with. I felt like she really had me hopeful for a minute there! Ultimately, I felt that was a complete waste of my time.

Looking back, I learned that this company didn’t have all of their “ducks in a row” and were more disorganized in their hiring approach than I realized before. Employers are very busy and sometimes will try to save money by doing everything themselves. In this case, the hiring manager held many roles in the office and instead of putting resources into an actual hiring team or recruiter, piled on her plate more than she could handle. What I looked at as her being picky and indecisive actually had a lot to do with her team being understaffed and her being overwhelmed.

Ask upfront and direct questions to be sure the employer can actually stand by what they are offering, and be weary of employers that you don’t hear a peep of communication from.

I understand that this can happen, employers aren’t perfect. My only feedback would be about transparency: being upfront and avoiding language like “You’re a great fit with the team” and “How soon can you start?” and “We’re looking to get you on the team soon” is important and should go without saying! (Employers, please don’t use this language if you’re not sure the role is even available for hopeful candidates. To job searchers, learn from my experience.)

5. Don’t overthink it, the right job will come along eventually.

My best piece of advice here when it comes to job hunting is to keep going and don’t overthink it. It’s understandable to feel overwhelmed or stressed, and even anxious when applying for jobs, especially for a job you really want–it’s the waiting for a response that can be brutal. Continue to search for jobs that align with what you’re looking for and what you need, whether that’s benefits and pay (an obvious big one), or flexibility with a work schedule. You may have heard this many times but it’s true–the right job will come along, if you keep going and do what you can on your end to stand out.

By keeping some of the things in mind during your job search, I’m hopeful you’ll be able to make a more informed decision on the next step in your career path. ~

interviewlisthow to
Like

About the Creator

Li-Li đź““

Just a modest woman living in a modern world, writing about what I know while embracing life’s simple pleasures, & finding solace in the rhythm of words and the unconditional love of my dog. ♥

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

Li-Li đź““ is not accepting comments at the moment

Want to show your support? Become a pledged subscriber or send them a one-off tip.

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.