Education logo

4 Things They Don't Tell You in High School

To Reassure You That You Are Doing Just Fine

By Madelena MartinezPublished 6 years ago 4 min read
milkstudy.tumblr.com/

Growing up in a 1A school in a town with a population of less than 1,000 people, it can typically be hard to picture yourself making a huge impact on a world that has over seven billion people.

As an 18-year-old senior, I felt utterly hopeless. I'm the type of person that overthinks every single decision that I have ever made, thinking one small change can lead to a total, chaotic lifestyle that I never wanted for myself. Now try adding a "You-need-to-choose-a-career-as-a-young-inexperienced-teenager-that-will-determine-how-the-rest-of-your-existence-will-play-out" mentality to the equation. It all equals out to anxiety beyond measure, which later turns into a careless outlook on life. Consequently, this was the downfall of my high school career and I almost didn't walk the stage. What made me more rebellious were teachers and counselors kept pushing high end colleges, applications, and majors that will "get you somewhere in life." Through all of this chaos, I just kept thinking that I had to get out of that place. FAST.

After (barely) graduating high school, I've never been more proud of myself. Although I received numerous death stares from the staff, I took my diploma and ran as far away from that building as I could.

It has been a year since I graduated and I've gained some knowledge about the real world. Most of this knowledge could've been easily obtained if the staff at my high school actually cared about my future. So, if you are a current high school student (or anyone in that matter) that needs some reassurance, here it is.

1. Its OK Not To Go To College

Let me repeat that. IT'S OK NOT TO GO TO COLLEGE. Sure, a degree might help you in some cases, but if it's not what you want to do, don't do it! If later down the line you decide to try it out, go for it! It's never too late to attend college. Many school staff members tend to push college on students without keeping in mind that not all people WANT to go to college. It isn't for everybody. If you come to the conclusion that it doesn't suite the future you have in mind for yourself, it's perfectly ok. Focus on what you want for your life. At the end of the day, it's your choice on how you want to live.

2. It's OK to take time off after high school.

When I was applying to numerous colleges around the United States, many people suggested to go straight to college after high school. Don't get me wrong, it's great advice. But, all people are different. For me, high school was mentally exhausting and quite challenging for me. How I processed information was way different then the other kids in my class. I didn't know this until the middle of my first semester in college. I struggled a little bit, but luckily the university staff cared enough to help me through it and provided me endless amounts of resources. After that, I decided to just take a semester off. If your brain needs a break, give it a break! Mental health is just as important as physical health. Get a job, create things, find yourself. Whatever you choose to do during that time is up to you.

3. The real world isn't all that bad.

"Just wait until you get into the real world." "You can't just do whatever you want." "I can't wait to see what happens when you face the real world."

I've heard this about ten million times during high school. The "real world" is very unexpected. Yes, sometimes it does suck. But it isn't horrible! It's only horrible if you make it that way. Taxes? Suck. Bills? Suck. Being broke? S-U-C-K-S. But hey, you're getting your stuff done. At the beginning, it'll be a little rough. Isn't that with everything, though? Think about it. You didn't just know how to ride a bike or know how to write a full sentence. You practiced. Same thing with life. It gets a little bumpy, but keep trying. Build yourself up. Never stop learning. Along the journey, you'll find things worth striving for.

4. Nothing is impossible if you want it bad enough.

Cliché? Yeah, just a little. But it couldn't be more closer to the truth. Story time! When I was in middle school, I was the very reserved, overweight girl with "goth clothes" that hardly talked to anyone. One day, I decided to try out for the cheer squad. Arriving at practice, all the girls laughed at my basketball shorts and band t-shirt while they practiced in spanks and tank tops. I began to think that this was way out of my league. After attempting to leave, one girl encouraged me to stay. She told me not to care what people think and offered to practice with me. And you know what happened next? I got cheer captain! Everyone was SHOOK. Even though it's just a small accomplishment in my life, I'll always hold it close to my heart. It just goes to show that you can do ANYTHING. Start your own clothing line? Do it! Manage your own food truck? Do it! Become a mathematician? Not my cup of tea, but if it's something you enjoy, go for it! Build a life worth living. Nothing is out of your reach. If it is, you better find a ladder and start climbing.

You. Can. Do. It. Don't be stuck doing something you don't enjoy. Moral of the story: be whoever you want to be. If it isn't a popular opinion, so what? Your happiness is more important than what others think of you.

Do what you love and don't regret one bit of it.

SMALL DISCLAIMER: Not all small schools are bad! It just happens to be that the one I went to didn't exactly work for me. Not all teachers don't care. Not all high school experiences suck. I'm just trying to spread a litle love!

-XoXo

high school

About the Creator

Madelena Martinez

My name is Madelena! Madi for short. I love nature, music, and adventures! I'm 19 years old and I attend Lubbock Christian University! My major is Psychology and I'm just trying to put myself out there as a writer!

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For Free

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

    Madelena MartinezWritten by Madelena Martinez

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.