Education logo

3 Steps to Recharge and Reclaim Your Future!

How to get your groove back

By Maria Rose Published about a year ago 6 min read
Like

It's no secret that life is hard, even on a good day. When you throw kids, bills and unexpected emergencies in the mix, and you've got yourself a cocktail of what is known as "adulting." Sometimes it can feel like if you do it right, you'll have everything paid and no money leftover, happy children with zero time for yourself, and dinner made with a few extra pounds to boot. Hey, I'm not here to disagree with your reality. I am here to acknowledge both sides of the big picture. On one hand, you may feel overwhelmed and uninspired. On the other hand, you still wake up every day and wonder: Is this it? Is this the best that life has for me? The answer is: absolutely not!

Life has so much more for you! Life is a treasure mine of opportunity, creative expression, and meaningful purpose. But, just like finding diamonds, you're not just gonna stumble upon it. In the movie, "Blood Diamond," there just so happened to be a chunky diamond under the main character’s foot one day while he was working in the river. But, that was a movie. The odds of experiencing this are like winning the lottery. One in fifty million people will get a major shortcut to massive financial freedom. But, as for the rest of us, our journey begins with a little thing I call "Setting yourself up for hope.” Hope isn't the blue sky of life that comes into forecast. It is a result of actions and behaviors that trigger your mind to say, things are getting better -- because I am getting better.

Keeping hope alive is a daily effort that one can only do for themselves. One day, I was watching The Ellen Show. She allowed the cameras into her home, and viewers saw a glimpse into her morning workout routine. I was moved to see that even though Ellen has a net worth of 330 million, she still has to get down on a mat and do her own sit-ups, just like I do. This was the fresh reminder that I needed to hold fast to the truth that money doesn't buy a fit body, anymore than money can buy hope.

Hope is earned by way of setting yourself up for it! And the best part is -- anyone can have it! Below are proven steps I practice daily to set myself up for a miracle. Because guess what? As soon as you fill your heart with hope, your name is put on the list for a breakthrough. Isn't that what we want? For a door to open up, and catapult us into the next level?

So try these steps below to start your “hope engine” back up.

1. WRITE IT DOWN.

One of the factors in losing our inspiration is that we keep our inspiration, and problem solving ideas locked up in our head. Why do we do this? Many reasons. Does this thought sound familiar?

...If I don't voice my plans, then no one would know if I failed.

The problem is, without writing down exactly where we want to be three months, six months, and two years from now; our mind cannot properly visualize.

Visualization is key to recharging your happiness and ultimately reaching your goals. Think about the last time you made a list for the grocery store. Did you think about the possibility of not making it there? Probably not. Didn't you already see yourself back at home with the things you needed? But yet, you hadn't done anything yet. You hadn't turned on the car, or walked in the store. However, it was clear in your mind that it was happening.

This same logic applies to our life goals. It can be easy to not associate this practice with our life goals, because they don't seem as easy to achieve as going down the street to Target. But, in fact, a goal writing study was conducted by Dominican University in California with nearly 270 participants.

...What were the results, you ask? Studies found that we are 42 percent more likely to achieve our goals if we write them down.

That news pumped me up so much! Within the next hour, I wrote down my goals on a blank sheet of paper. Then, I went to FedEx-Kinkos and laminated the page. This paper is a constant reminder that I am going to achieve my goals. It's already done! All I have to do now is the double-N.S. The Next Necessary Step.

Your Next Necessary Step will vary depending on the type of goal you have. But remember, just like in writing down your list for the grocery store -- you don't have to worry about future steps until you cross the first bridge. For instance: You don't have to wonder if the store has your favorite brand of milk if you haven't even left the house. Write down your goals and proceed with the Next Necessary Step that is within your power to accomplish.

2. COUNT YOUR BLESSINGS.

When we are feeling down, the last thing you want to hear is... it could be worse.

But the fact is, it truly could be.

No matter what you're facing, there's always someone that would give everything to be in your shoes. The mother that hates her job and car, is living the dream of the mother that can't afford a car, and hasn’t found a job. The father that was diagnosed with a manageable illness, is living the dream of the father that was given four weeks to live. The person that is overweight, is living the dream of the person that is in a wheelchair and would do anything to be able to run and get back in shape.

I encourage you to count your blessings -- literally. Get your notes out in your phone, a piece of paper, or just do it in your head.

Name 25 things that you are thankful for.

This step is key to getting back on track to living your best life! As you begin to record things you are grateful for, you will soon realize that the right perspective is essential to living in your purpose.

In fact, a study was conducted by Psychology Today in 2003. This experiment compared the well-being of participants who kept a weekly list of things they were grateful for, in comparison to participants who kept a list of things that irritated them or neutral things.

The research showed that the gratitude-focused participants exhibited increased well-being and they concluded that “a conscious focus on blessings may have emotional and interpersonal benefits.” So I say, when it rains – look for rainbows. When it's dark…look for stars.

3. DO SOMETHING DIFFERENT.

If you don't like where you are currently in your personal life, financial state, or health condition, chances are; your routine is driving you to the town of dissatisfaction. Routine is the vehicle our consciousness relies upon to propel us to the next level.

However, if you don't have a routine that sets you up for success, then your vehicle doesn't have any gas.

You must change your routine if you want to live an inspired life.

I remember feeling intimidated at the thought of changing my routine. I was listening to a motivational speaker, and he introduced the idea of “switching it up,” if you will. I thought...my routine is all I know. Yes, I could totally revamp my schedule tomorrow. But, how long would that last?

Changing our routine is like parenthood -- change doesn't happen all at once. It's organic, and your lifestyle can improve with just one responsible choice at a time. Just like you don't have to worry about homework, bullies, and driving when a child is born -- you don't have to worry about creating a CEO-level routine right out of the gate.

Just do something different! And do it consistently! The subsequent life restoring habits will follow.

I started with running in the morning. I didn't do anything else different in my day but run in the morning. This required me to have to get up earlier. At the time, it was the only change I could handle.

Guess what I discovered? That one good decision led to other good decisions. As a result, I stopped buying a breakfast sandwich in the morning, and opted for reading before my workout. I focused better at work because I was starting my day with a high-energy habit that increased blood flow and brain productivity. Just from that one change, I was able to reconstruct my entire daily routine and recharge my zeal.

If you remember nothing else, remember this: don't bog yourself down with the countless things you need to stop or start doing. Just determine one positive thing that you will commit to doing. You got this! You are a human being with infinite potential! A diamond doesn't lose its value because it hasn't been found. So, you lost your hope for a bit? That's normal. Follow these steps and discover the higher self inside you. Because your next victory...is right around the corner.

how to
Like

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.