Earth logo

YOLO but like, Save the Earth

how do you become the change you wish to see?

By Darian JacksonPublished 3 years ago 4 min read
Top Story - May 2021
43
YOLO but like, Save the Earth
Photo by Kasturi Laxmi Mohit on Unsplash

As I lay in bed this morning, gratitude fills my being; for the gift of another day of life has been granted. I pause, as my senses take in the beaming 6am sunrise, the chorus of local birds chirping as they awaken from their nests. Buried underneath the weighted comforter, I look over and listen to the quiet hum of the humidifier, contrasting with the bang! of the garbage truck emptying the community dumpster, just outside my apartment window.

Courtesy of Country Living Magazine

As I begin my morning routine, I happen to notice several of my idle kitchen appliances are plugged into the wall. I unplug them. I can't remember the last time I've used over half of them. I suppose that's where all the outlets have gone.

I open up the refrigerator to find the weeks worth of meal prep, prepared for my weekly lunches. Prepping/Portioning is important to reduce food waste; freezing helps with this too! Beside the containers, I find eggs, homemade salsa, red peppers, as well as a bundle of more fresh fruits and veggies acquired from the city market over the weekend. In purchasing from the city market, I have significantly lowered the travel distance of my food. Low travel distance means less gas and emissions put into the atmosphere, less/if any preservatives to keep food fresh, and last but not least, support of the community I live my life in. The community in which my carbon footprint begins and impacts directly. Don't forget your reusable grocery bag! ;-)

Courtesy of tablespoon.com

As I get ready for work, I remember to turn off the lights in the rooms I just left. This lowers the amount of "ghost energy", power wasted by devices not in use or even turned on! This "ghost energy" is responsible for almost 30% of your energy bill. Who knew? If you want to take it a step further, I strongly recommend installing LED lightbulbs instead of your standard lightbulb. According to energy.gov, not only do LED lightbulbs last significantly longer, they use 75% less energy than your average incandescent light bulb. Spend the extra $5-$10 and significantly improve your carbon footprint!

Courtesy of Arcadia Blog

Did you know you can purchase an affordable, low-flow showerhead, which lowers the amount of water wasted as well as lowering your water heating costs? Not something every one would think about, but would work right into reducing your carbon footprint through your daily routine. Also, keep your eyes peeled for any lighting or appliances with the "Energy Star" label, indicating energy efficient products that work right into your home!

Courtesy of energystar.gov

Unfortunately, I live about 30 minutes from work, so I drive my own vehicle opposed to utilizing public transportation. Remembering to use cruise control to save gas, and maintain my tires to keep my vehicle from working harder and releasing more harmful emissions. If you can afford it, buy your future car in the form of electric or hybrid! On the days I spend time in the city, I make sure to uber downtown and hop on the local street car or get in my steps and enjoy a scenic walk. By ubering and taking advantage of the streetcar, I am cutting out the cost of travel and lowering released emissions. Walking is a low carbon activity, taking away all of this completely!

Courtesy of Wikipedia "Kansas City Streetcar"

When traveling in general, try to use public transportation as much as possible. When flying, try your best to choose nonstop flights. Nonstop flights prevent the plane from having to stop and go as much, as well as reducing more nonrenewable resource intake. You may even go a step further and choose economy as your flight preference; lowering carbon emissions by sharing among more passengers. Stay in "green hotels" that practice energy efficient habits.

Courtesy of Pinterest

Last but not least, the biggest, most consistent and promising way of reducing your carbon footprint, is taking on a more minimalistic lifestyle. Of course, a collective of all of the actions listed above contribute to this lifestyle, but applying a sustainable, minimalist, outlook to everything you do helps both the world and yourself immensely! From shopping for items with minimal packaging, to cold washing and air drying clothing, to becoming a gardener overnight or even participating in a meatless diet once a week. YOU are the drop in the ocean. YOU are the change you wish to see. YOU only live once, but like, save the Earth. ;-)

Sustainability
43

About the Creator

Darian Jackson

25 years young.

inspired creative, entreprenuer and lover of life.

expressing herself through words, songs, images and sounds. writing her story daily, putting meaning to her path.

Welcome! :-)

Podcasts -> https://soundcloud.com/darianjackson

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.