Earth logo

The Wild Lawn

Manicured Grass Or Wild Life?

By Mike Singleton - MikeydredPublished 10 months ago 3 min read
7
My Lawn

Introduction

I was always under the impression that lawns should be kept tidy and only have grass, closely cut on them. I have heard of moss lawns, and playing fields, tennis courts, croquet lawns, and bowling greens obviously need to be kept well trimmed and tidy but in recent years my attitude towards grassed lawns and their surrounding has been changing, maybe even evolving.

For this article, I think that "This Garden" by The Levellers is a perfect accompaniment.

Thistle Do Nicely

How Should A Lawn Really Be?

I used to vociferously clear and kill dandelions wherever I found them but now I am fine, welcoming them, although I still mow my lawn so they don't last, but they have some time there.

We need blooms such as dandelions to enable bees to gather what they need from them to make honey and to pollinate other flowers. I now practice "No Mow May" and have written about it here.

My lawn probably gets mown less these days. Whether that is due to me caring more about the environment or just my inherent laziness I really don't know.

The thing is on my walks I have seen a lot of lawn and garden areas looking wilder and therefore, to me, more interesting. Now it may be people are deliberately letting their gardens and lawns get wilder for environmental reasons, or they just can't be bothered. Whichever way, it is better for the environment.

In 2017 Friends of the Earth published this about councils implementing wildflower verges to help and encourage bees but sadly the main aim seems to be saving money in the face of government cuts while they give the go-ahead to bee-killing pesticides, but the main thing is that it is happening in some areas.

On my wanders, I see a lot of bees where there are the right types of flowers. It's not just dandelions, but as I am a rubbish horticulturalist I just see flowers and blooms as flowers and blooms.

Yellow Daisy Like Flowers

The garden above will be brilliant for butterflies and bees, and it is a joy to see them when I am on my walks.

The point of this is that impeccably manicured lawns are functional, tidy, and acceptable but ultimately boring. You can lie and sit and have a drink or picnic on a nicely mowed lawn but that is about it.

I keep mine tidy though clover and moss and dandelions have encroached on it now. The border areas are a bit jungly but it does make the garden much more interesting.

Lots Of Flowers

On the one above there are a lot of colours, plus some rubbish but the butterflies and bees will not be too bothered and there is a huge choice for them and a visual treat for me.

A Colourful Front Garden

The garden above is turning into something else, but it has a lot of lovely purple flowers. All the pictures I have shared for this piece were taken on this morning's walk, so you can see that there are a lot of ways to make sure that our pollinators have somewhere to get the materials that they need to survive and to make plants grow, which in turn ensures the survival of the human race.

An Overgrown Driveway

Author's Supporting Final Notes

As you can see, even some major organizations are aware of the importance of making sure that wildflowers can flourish. Factory farms and a lot of regulating authorities have been destroying wildflower environments but in some areas, this is now turning, not least the people who let their gardens go a bit wild, and the No Mow May movement.

Here are some links to ways of maintaining wildflowers, publicly and privately.

SustainabilityScienceNatureClimate
7

About the Creator

Mike Singleton - Mikeydred

Weaver of Tales, Poems, Music & Love

7(1.2m) ֎ Fb ֎ Px ֎ Pn ֎

X ֎ In ֎ YT (0.2m) ֎ T

Vocal Tips

Creationati

Call Me LesGina HeatherCaroline

BabsROCKDharCathyJudey

DaphsamMisty MelissaMa Coombs

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (8)

Sign in to comment
  • Rachel Deeming10 months ago

    Loved this. Welcome the wild-dom! We did something similar in our garden this year. We have lawn but also have a strip of wildflowers which, when they came out, were beautiful. I liked the anticipation of what flowers would come out too. I love this return to nature.

  • That's what my garden area is. It's not that I haven't felt well enough to work in it. It's interesting & good for the bees! Loved the pictures & article.

  • Mackenzie Davis10 months ago

    I love the more wild look, especially if the flowers are native. I adore seeing them grow out on highways and in mountainous fields. Plus, more people are installing the native plants in my area, which is so refreshing and much more environmentally friendly. Lawns are not meant to be grown in places that have lower humidity and less rainfall, so it’s nice to see the tide turning in my western state. Lovely pictures. Your neighborhood looks so quaint. And bravo for helping the bees! 💜

  • Gina C.10 months ago

    Absolutely lovely read, Mike! Personally, I also prefer the "wilder" look. I think that dandelions on the lawn are so pretty. 🤗❤️ I also like it when vegetation is allowed to look a bit "weedy"....I dunno, it just looks pretty to me :)

  • Babs Iverson10 months ago

    Splendid article!!! I am all for a natural lawn. Cutting and chemicals to maintain a manicure lawn, isn't worth the time and expense! ♥️♥️💕

  • Cathy holmes10 months ago

    Nice garden, Mike.

  • Mariann Carroll10 months ago

    Mowing is not fun. Your country is known for beautiful garden . Flowers love your climate

  • Donna Renee10 months ago

    I love the look of a rewilded lawn!

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.