Earth logo

Content warning

This story may contain sensitive material or discuss topics that some readers may find distressing. Reader discretion is advised. The views and opinions expressed in this story are those of the author and do not necessarily reflect the official policy or position of Vocal.

The future we lost

In a world that failed to address climate change, a group of survivors tell the story

By EmmanuelPublished 21 days ago 3 min read
The future we lost
Photo by Matt Palmer on Unsplash

The Future We Lost

In the year 2087, I stood alone on the edge of a vast, barren landscape, gazing out at the ruins of a once-thriving world. The wind howled through the desolate expanse, whispering haunting tales of what we had lost. I remembered the world as it once was - vibrant, full of life, and promise. But that was before the devastating effects of climate change ravaged our planet.

Rising sea levels swallowed coastal cities, droughts decimated lush forests, and extreme weather events became the new norm. I thought of my childhood, spent playing in parks and forests, chasing butterflies and dreaming of a bright future. But that future never came. Instead, we inherited a world ravaged by human greed and neglect.

Tears streamed down my face as I thought of my loved ones, lost in the struggles of a world that had given up on itself. I remembered the last time I saw my family, huddled together in a small, cramped shelter, praying for a miracle that never came. My mother's words still echoed in my mind, "Hold on to hope, my child. One day, we'll find a way out of this."

But that day never came. The world continued to deteriorate, and we were powerless to stop it. I felt the weight of our collective failure, the crushing burden of what we had lost. The future we had dreamed of, the world we had promised our children, was gone.

I fell to my knees, overcome with grief and regret. The future we lost was not just a distant dream but a harsh reality that haunted us every day. I thought of the countless species that had vanished, the forests that had burned, and the oceans that had been drained of life.

As the sun set over the ruins, I knew I couldn't stay there forever. I had to keep moving, for the sake of those who came before me and those who would come after. I had to hold on to hope, no matter how small, and keep pushing forward into the unknown.

With a heavy heart and a determined spirit, I rose to my feet and began walking into the unknown. I walked for days, crossing barren landscapes and abandoned cities. I met others along the way, each with their own story of loss and resilience.

We formed a community, bound together by our shared grief and our determination to rebuild. We shared stories of the past, of the world we had lost, and of the future we hoped to create. We worked together, using our skills and knowledge to create a new world from the ashes of the old.

It wasn't easy. There were setbacks and challenges, moments of despair and hopelessness. But we persevered, driven by our collective vision of a better future. We built shelters, grew food, and created art. We laughed and loved, and we found joy in the simple things.

Years passed, and our community grew. We became a beacon of hope in a desolate world, a reminder that even in the darkest of times, there is always a way forward. We knew that we would never forget the future we lost, but we also knew that we had the power to create a new one.

As I looked out upon our thriving community, I felt a sense of pride and purpose. We had lost the future, but we had found a new one. We had found a way to heal, to rebuild, and to thrive in a world that had been given up for dead.

The future we lost would always be a part of us, a reminder of what we had been through and what we had overcome. But it was no longer a burden, no longer a source of grief and regret. It was a memory, a reminder of the strength and resilience of the human spirit.

And so, we looked to the future, to the world we were creating, and we knew that we would always carry the lessons of the past with us. We would never forget the future we lost, but we would always remember the future we created, the future we built from the ashes of the old.

Sustainabilityshort storyScienceNatureHumanityClimateAdvocacy

About the Creator

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For Free

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. On-point and relevant

    Writing reflected the title & theme

  2. Eye opening

    Niche topic & fresh perspectives

Add your insights

Comments (1)

  • Emmanuel Collins 20 days ago

    Nice work, truly innovating

EWritten by Emmanuel

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.