Earth logo

My Pledge to Mother Earth

I will do better; I will be better

By Kaitlyn DawnPublished 3 years ago 3 min read
My Pledge to Mother Earth
Photo by Brigitta Schneiter on Unsplash

On this Earth Day, 2021, I have reflected heavily on all the things I could do differently in my life. I know that with change it is best to take small steps. So the following that I pledge to change, I do not promise to fix overnight ... but these are changes I am aware I can make, and pledge to do so over the course of the next five years (preferably sooner!).

My Pledge to Mother Earth

I promise to do better for our beautiful planet, for the quality of my life and the quality of the lives all around me. I promise to do this by ...

* Shortening my showers to 10 minutes (as opposed to 30-40); I can make a playlist and have my iPad playing music so that I'll know when my shower time is up

* Unplugging electronics that don't need to be plugged in until used -- phone chargers, laptop chargers, lamps, etc.

* Continuing to use reusable bags for grocery shopping, but also putting one in my purse for the impromptu shopping trips I take (no-longer needing to ask for plastic bags)

* Buying as many items from Bulk Barn as possible -- spices, flours, etc. -- refilling our jars at home

* Purchasing meats and fruits/vegetables locally, from farmers themselves (if possible)

* Replacing anything in our home involving potential chemicals (dish soap, laundry detergent, cleaning supplies, etc.) with chemical-free alternatives or even natural alternatives

* Donating and selling items I don't use (and probably never will)

* Educating others as I go along this journey

There's still so much I need to research and explore, but I promise to always be learning, always striving to make changes and improvements.

Immediate Action

One of my favourite questions as a Life Coach is "What is one step you can take today (or this week) towards your goal?" ... I managed to come up with the next two steps for myself. (This doesn't mean I'll be taking ALL of the steps this week, but I like to plan ahead, to have a vision.)

For shorter showers ...

1. Create the playlist(s)

2. Start today -- this is the easy one (for me); I've done it before and I know I am capable of making this part of my routine

For unplugging electronics ...

1. Brainstorm (which could involve walking around the apartment) 5 things plugged in that don't need to be

2. Every morning after boyfriend goes to work, unplug these 5

For reusable bags ...

1. Reorganize my purse (because part of the problem is I don't want to add anything more into it; it's super cluttered)

2. Fold up my reusable bag and find a place for it in my purse

For buying in bulk ...

1. Talk to my boyfriend about what groceries we could be buying from Bulk Barn (maybe also take a trip, just to walk around and make a list)

2. Go to the dollar store for whatever containers we still need

For buying fruits, vegetables, and meats ...

1. Research what's available in the local area, as far as farmers

2. Compare pricing with store pricing

For chemical-free products

1. Research what to look for one labels, as well as what brands are best and available in Canada

2. Change one product to start (probably the dish soap)

For donations and selling ...

1. Go through my clothes -- separate into piles of keep, sell, donate, and potentially use for scraps

2. Make the effort to sell my clothes (on Poshmark)

For educating others ...

1. Continue to write articles as I learn more

2. Talk to my family and friends about things I learn -- particularly, my mom and boyfriend

So, in short, what am I doing TODAY?

Taking it nice and easy, I'm creating shower playlists this morning so I can use one this afternoon for my first 10-minute shower of 2021.

Next, I'm walking around the apartment to find more plugs that don't need to be in ALL the time. I know of the two in my office, and I can think of a couple more, but I'm excited to see what else I can find (like a treasure hunt!).

Finally, I'm reorganizing my purse -- taking out all the receipts and tic tac containers and anything else I find in there that has no purpose being there -- and folding up my new reuseable bag so have with me, just in case I'm out shopping alone.

These actions may seem small and easy, but I know over time (and as I add more small and easy actions to my life) these will have a massive impact.

Humanity

About the Creator

Kaitlyn Dawn

27, Canadian, she/her

Life & Creativity Coach

reader, writer, and lover of words

https://www.kaitlyndawn.com

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For Free

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

    Kaitlyn DawnWritten by Kaitlyn Dawn

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.