Earth logo

Down to Earth, Inspired to Go Green

8 things I took away from Zac Efron's series

By Kaitlyn DawnPublished 3 years ago 7 min read

I love Zac Efron. I haven't always, but his acting has gotten better over the years, and I've watched some interviews with him ... and I have so much more love and appreciation for him now.

I've been interested in learning more about sustainable living and going green for awhile now. So when I discovered Zac came out with a Netflix series, Down to Earth with Zac Efron, I had to check it out!

... but not right away. I know, it was released in July 2020, where have I been this year that I didn't have time watch this? I don't have an answer ...

BUT, thanks to Earth Day, I remembered this series existed, and I'm pleased to report I watched all 5 hours of it today!

So ... what is this show? Zac and his friend, Darin Olien, are on a quest, "searching for healthy sustainable living solutions for the planet .. and all who live on it". From Iceland to Iquitos they explored places around the globe that have created beautiful solutions to help Mother Earth thrive. I learned a lot from this show, and I wanted to share the pieces I took away from each episode.

Iceland

While in Iceland, Zac and the crew visited Gullfoss Falls, a popular tourist attraction that is absolutely breathtaking.

"Icelanders try to keep a balance between damming waterfalls for energy and also keeping them untouched for beauty. With 10,000-plus waterfalls and just ten hydroelectric plants, it feels like a pretty good ratio so far."

I love that they do their best to preserve the beauty of the falls, especially since we learn earlier in this episode about a geothermal energy plant ... so they have some other options for electricity and power in Iceland, not just reliant hydro. The big piece (for me), however, that I learned from this episode is:

"... water in motion produces negative ions, which are known to relieve stress, reduce tension, fight depression, and increase energy."

Now, the question I have is, does this only apply to water in nature, or do my showers count too? Because that would explain A LOT!

But in all seriousness, I've been wanting to research water features for homes ... and of course, I need to look into if this is sustainable, but I'm currently in an apartment, so I think I have time to do all the proper research I need to. I'm always happy to hear about natural ways to relieve tension and increase energy though! (negative ions = positive vibes)

France

Before heading to France, Zac and Darin (joined by Anna Kendrick) meet a water sommelier (... that is a thing!) in Los Angeles, Martin Riese. I'm going to need to watch this episode two or three times to FULLY get it, but based on the question Anna asked (same one I had), "Wait, filtered water is bad?" ... apparently I've been drinking water wrong. Our body NEEDS the minerals (or some of them? ... again, I have to watch this one multiple times to get the science behind it). And it's not just filtered water Martin says is a no-no:

"Just go to the grocery store and look at the labels. Like when it says spring water or aquifer water or ice glacier water, that is your choice. And when you see purified, just leave it on the shelf."

So anything purified is not good. Okay ... I still have questions about filtering the water, so I will need to explore more ... but it's gotten me thinking!

Costa Rica

I searched for eco communities in my town ... while I was watching this episode. It's something I think about every so often -- one of my former teachers lives in an Ecovillage, and my best friend wants to create a sustainable-living co-op ... so it's in the back of my mind often. And occasionally, the thought makes its way forward. Today, I not only searched for eco communities, I EMAILED one because I'm intrigued about how it all works. (Plus, I really want out of this apartment ... my boyfriend and I are ready to move on to the next level of housing, I can feel it.) The one in Costa Rica sounded absolutely incredible, and to experience it for even a month would probably do wonders for my health and well-being.

Sardinia

Sardinia (in case you didn't know, because I didn't) is a region of Italy, and it is considered to be one of the few "blue zones" in the world. "Blue zones" are places with a large number of centenarians -- people living to 100+ years old.

Diet comes up in this episode a fair bit ...

"I still can't get over how this diet of carbs and low protein is the exact opposite of everything any trainer has ever taught me. I think the real secret is to find a healthy, happy balance between the two."

I agree! There is so much mismatch for what we're supposed to eat (or maybe it's just all the information I've been given over the years) ... ultimately, the expression "too much of a good thing" can be applied here: it is better to eat in moderation, and to eat intentionally.

A local expert they speak with brings this up later in the episode:

"It's really about the quantities. There's nothing wrong with pasta and bread and even sugar. It's the quantities. If you have ten grams of sugar a day, that's OK. If you have 100 grams of sugar a day, that's not OK."

Lima

My mind was blown with this one -- first because I learned a new word ("biopiracy"), but then this statement:

"Locally sourcing your food isn't just good for the community, it's good for you. The second produce is harvested, it begins to lose nutritional value, up to 30% in the first three days. So less travel time means more nutrients."

... I knew it was important to support local for the community, but there's actually a nutritional reason for it too?! Woah!!!

Also:

"This is one of the keys to healthy, sustainable eating: knowing not just what you're eating, but exactly where it came from, and who grew it."

Puerto Rico

Honestly, I couldn't pick just one piece from this episode. What Zac says at the end is pretty close to perfect:

"... we need to start rethinking how we consume everything, from our food to our power."

But in reality, I think the thing that I actually took away from here is to ask myself "What can I do for the world at large?"; how can I help places like Puerto Rico, destroyed by hurricanes and other natural disasters?

London

When Zac and Darin started off with bees on a rooftop in New York (and then more bees in London), I thought I would mention the beekeeping as my star takeaway ... because I've thought about it. I really have, I want to learn how to become a beekeeper. (Save the bees!)

But then Zac met up with Ella of Deliciously Ella, and discussing how a more plant-based diet aided with her health -- even allowing her to come off medication that was assumed she would need for the rest of her life -- really got to me. And I'm torn, because I feel like I couldn't even convince my boyfriend to go GLUTEN-FREE (which is something I should be doing for my own health), so asking him to try VEGANISM (even for a day) would probably never work ... in other words, I'm on my own. And I'm a picky eater, so I would kind of like the support. However, Zac had this tip to share:

"First time vegan eating is easier to do with familiar flavors."

I don't think Zac is picky like I am, but he expressed to Ella before about his hesitation with veganism because there is all this stigma about vegan food not being as good ... but it can be; there are people like Ella whose mission it is to prove that plant-based diets can be just as delicious (and way more nutritious!) than a heavier meat diet. (Plus, it was mentioned in the Sardinia episode how a lower protein diet is better for longevity!)

Iquitos

Darin says it best here:

"We don't understand our massive impact on the world."

Conclusion

I went into full saviour mode today. Asking myself a million questions on what I could do differently. Googling things I've never Googled before. Told my boyfriend my brain was overwhelmed when he got home from work and asked me how my day was (because it's true!). This show put a LOT of things in perspective for me.

As I was looking up bits and pieces of information (confirming with the Internet some of the facts I learned from Zac), I saw a few articles floating around about the quality of this series ...

I'm not saying Zac Efron is a deity and we should take his word as gospel -- I'm here expressing that my eyes have been opened, and for the pieces that caught my attention I will be exploring further. I think that's what these shows should be about; never take anything as fact immediately, but use that initial impulse of intrigue to go out and do your own research.

That is my pledge: To continue to learn and grow, in order to improve upon how I live my life -- for myself AND for the planet. And to make changes, little by little ... like Zac says:

"People are usually resistant to change. That's why change is best in small steps. Little increments. Switch to a reusable mug. Carpool one day a week. Ride a bike when you can. Plant a few seeds. And work your way up to a garden. Eat one extra serving of vegetables a day. And know where they came from. Just like picking up garbage, change can happen one piece at a time. And before you know it, you look over your shoulder and realize you've done a lot. The hardest thing about change is taking that first step."

Now ... if you haven't seen this series yet, watch the trailer and tell me you're not intrigued to learn more?

Sustainability

About the Creator

Kaitlyn Dawn

27, Canadian, she/her

Life & Creativity Coach

reader, writer, and lover of words

https://www.kaitlyndawn.com

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For Free

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

    Kaitlyn DawnWritten by Kaitlyn Dawn

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.