Earth logo

Last Looks

A story from Mother Nature's book

By Matthew EduardPublished 3 years ago 4 min read
4
A Humpback Whale waves farewell (Photo by author)

As the crew member announced that the four-hour excursion will end with ‘last looks,’ one Humpback Whale decided to capitalize on the moment and simultaneously steal the show and the hearts of those on board.

A brisk 42-degree (Fahrenheit) morning in Boston, Massachusetts. The sky was clean as the sun beamed upon the restless group of locals and tourists alike. Although unhindered, the warmth of the sun was still no match for the infamous New England air. Spring had newly sprung, but my parka indicated otherwise. However, nothing could deter me from experiencing a rather simplistic wish on the bucket list; go whale watching.

The animal kingdom had always been my niche. I watched animal planet rather than cartoons as a child and would consume my time learning as many animal facts as my eager mind could withstand. There was always an innate connection with the natural world I never felt the need to explain. It simply felt…. natural. It felt as natural as the world in which I lived. Needless to say, my desire to immerse myself in the wonders of the natural world peaked early. Dreams of exploring the Galapagos or witnessing a lion’s kill on an African safari took permanent residency within my mind. I carried those dreams into adulthood where they still remain. When the opportunity presented itself to fabricate one dream into a reality, I pounced.

March of 2021. One year after the world experienced one of the most unforeseen realizations; a global pandemic. COVID-19 had enveloped the world within her seemingly unyielding grasp. Finally, restrictions began to be lifted. Vaccinations were made available and domestic travel opened. Similar to many, this was my opportunity to escape the confines of my home. With my best friend beside me, we took a four-hour train ride from New Jersey to Boston, Massachusetts. Prior to leaving, we had created a cursory itinerary to fill each day with as much as we possibly could. And the day had finally come; whale watching day. I was predictably most excited for this particular excursion as it fed my hunger to be close to the natural world. I may never get the chance to witness a whale or any other sea creature in its natural habitat again so this was an imperative moment.

Parka fully zipped, I followed the pathway leading to the vessel that would take us to our destination of the Stellwagen Bank National Marine Sanctuary. The sanctuary, located at the mouth of the Massachusetts Bay, is a popular site for whale watching. It is a rich feeding ground not only for whales, but dolphins, sea birds, and other marine creatures. Having researched the destination prior, I was ready. I walked to the top of the ship where I would remain firmly planted for the subsequent four-hour journey. A naturalist from the New England Aquarium was also on board to educate all passengers on the marine life that may be spotted. Aside from the decrease in temperature out on the water, the aggressive wind, and the increasing potential for sea-sickness, I was content. I learned while I watched which was almost, if not equally as fulfilling.

As we traversed the waters, my eyes were scrutinizing the surface for any signs of breaching or expulsion of air from blowholes. To my surprise, and childish delight, we were followed by a pod of dolphins and two whimsical gray seals. Both sets of marine life followed the ship for the entire ride to the sanctuary. The naturalist mentioned how this was a first, even for him. Naturally, this elevated my excitement. The weather, although brisk, was cooperatively clear and two additional creatures I did not expect to witness decided to follow the vessel. I would have been content if that were all I saw. As we reached the sanctuary, the naturalist uttered the words I had been awaiting; a whale is just up ahead.

I have always been and continue to be in absolute awe of whales of any species. They are the epitome of what wonders lie within the natural world. The largest animal on this planet is the Blue Whale, a gentle giant that exudes nothing but the truest majesty of the Earth. I knew this majesty existed for all whale species and to be able to experience it first hand was truly an honor.

As the naturalist completed his announcement, the ship stirred with excitement. Passengers lined the perimeters in hopes of catching the best glimpse of these colossal beauties. Not before long did the expulsions of air reveal the whales’ whereabouts. While there are multiple species of whale that inhabit the sanctuary, these were Humpbacks. It started out with one and then two and then three and before we knew it, there were five Humpback whales directly in our path. I watched in pure, genuine awe as they breached the surface. Time froze. I was completely enamored. The naturalist’s announcement of ‘last looks’ brought me back to reality as our time on the water had ceased. This was the moment in which the photographed whale completely amazed us all; the whale waved. This action was done only once as the whale lifted its flipper from beneath the surface to bid us all adieu. Either the whale fully understood the concept of comedic timing or there is a balance within the natural world we cannot even begin to comprehend.

I did nothing extraordinary to snap the shot I did. I was merely in the right place at the right time working in conjunction with nature. And that is the lesson I learned throughout this experience. The natural world is such a precious gift that humans have taken for granted. Rare, ineffable beauty exists amongst the human race and it needs to be protected. Conservation efforts need to be taken seriously if we want to live in a world with such awe-inspiring creatures. Mother nature bestows upon us some of the greatest gifts from her womb which should be cherished in the same likeness of a human child.

I was not looking for the shot. The shot found me. Nature spoke and I listened. And what a story it is she has to tell.

Thank You for reading.

Nature
4

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.