Earth logo

Are You an Eco-Hypocrite Too?

On finding the balance between being green and living your life.

By Lissy WreyPublished 2 years ago 3 min read
Like
Are You an Eco-Hypocrite Too?
Photo by Mert Guller on Unsplash

I’m an environmentalist. I care deeply about the preservation of our planet.

Yet, this morning as I sat down to write, I realised I’m not just an environmentalist.

I’m also a hypocrite.

My article was about an international trip I took last week. It was my first flight in three years and I flew economy. But still, I advocate for anti-consumerism, eating a plant-based diet, and reducing waste, and yet here I was spouting travel advice.

I may talk the talk, but I don't always walk the walk. I, like so many others, am an eco-hypocrite.

But is it possible for anyone who actively participates in modern society to be truly green?

Famous eco-hypocrites.

COP26 was dubbed as the most critical climate change summit of our time as world leaders made agreements on how to reduce global warming and meet essential targets that will save the planet.

Despite the noble aims of the summit, many attendees sparked outrage as they arrived in private jets.

Scotland’s Sunday Mail claimed the 400 plus planes that arrived in Glasgow would produce more carbon emissions than 1,600 Scots would produce in a year.

Prime Minister Boris Johnson, the president of the summit, jetted off to dinner at a gentleman’s club in London after giving a speech on the U.K’s new green initiatives.

And there are plenty of other celebs who brand themselves as environmentalists but have been dubbed eco-hypocrites.

But what about the others who, with their private jets and superyachts, are greatly contributing to carbon emissions and yet don’t use their platforms for environmental advocacy?

Can we partially forgive some of the self-confessed eco-hypocrites such as Leonardo Dicaprio in light of their attempts to offset their behaviour?

Eco hypocrite versus. climate change cynic.

Hypocrisy is the gap between your aspirations and your actions. Greens have high aspirations — they want to live more ethically — and they will always fall short. But the alternative to hypocrisy isn’t moral purity (no one manages that), but cynicism. Give me hypocrisy any day.

— George Monbiot.

Unless you live off-grid in the woods without a car, eating only the food you produce, and making all your own clothes then you could be labelled an eco-hypocrite.

I eat a mostly plant-based diet, but I sometimes have chicken with my Sunday roast. It always prompts the comment from my brother, “What’s the point of trying to be vegan if you’re still going to eat meat?”

The point is, I’m trying.

Perfection is unobtainable for us mere mortals. What’s obtainable is making a consistent effort to live in line with your values.

If you can resist ordering from Amazon and instead shop local, good for you.

If you decide to buy your coat from a thrift store instead of from Shein, you should be proud.

And if you commit to meat-free Mondays, give yourself a pat on the back because it’s better to be meat-free one day a week than no days a week.

Keep striving.

I was pretty ashamed to finally face my hypocritical ways today. As someone who claims to be an environmentalist maybe I should have put my morals above my desire to travel.

But I’m still proud to be a less than perfect environmentalist as opposed to someone who ignores climate change entirely.

So, don’t let the fact that you’re probably a bit of an eco-hypocrite too stop you from striving to do better. Keep signing petitions, keep recycling, and keep looking for ways to cut down your food waste.

Our planet’s relying on us. Every effort counts.

Sustainability
Like

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.