Earth logo

Alone in the Current

Thinking it's always you against the world but it was just you against being vulnerable and excepting your differences.

By ExilePublished about a year ago 5 min read
1

Again I'm here at this quiet boring space filled with lame isolated fishes and loud children. I never understood the appeal of the aquarium. Why do people come here with their children? Kids nowadays are not that even interested in the animal wild life.

Why am I here? Well I'm actually on a date with this guy who wouldn't leave me alone literally been very persistent to take me out. I accepted but I'm kind of regretting it because the last time I was at an aquarium was with my family long ago before I separated myself from them. I have not heard from them since. Don't even ask why; it's personal. I just need to go on my own and find myself. Anyways I agreed to be here because my date absolutely loves it here plus he works here. "EVEN BETTER" I guess.

The only remembrance I had being at the aquarium was in San Francisco Fisherman's Warf right before my parents divorce. It was hard on my siblings and I but I had to be strong to show it didn't bug me too much. Pisces are emotional but very quiet yet prideful of our feelings or whatever the astrology chart says. That's why having a date here was not best idea AT ALL but Eulysses insisted. I'm starting to like this guy so I must have to agree with things he loves.

We strolled through the aquarium and he noticed that I wasn't very amused then asked "You don't like it here do you?"; I said, "It reminds me of the good times with my family before my parents divorce." I couldn't believed I got vulnerable that quick to open up. He got quiet and took me to the majestic vibrant looking fishes. I started to become a little interested in the colors, and the atmosphere itself was very fleeting. I noticed from the corner of my eye something shadow like was swimming slowly towards me but I couldn't see it clearly. I was trying to get Eulysses to see but he said he doesn't see it. I thought maybe it was just a background in the tank. We carried on to another part of the aquarium but Eulysses went to the restroom. I sat there at the bench scrolling through my Facebook photos of my family. I started to tear up and all of a sudden I heard a huge thud on glass tank. I quickly looked up and it was there looking up at me this creature that looks like a dolphin but no bottle nose and different coloration. It's petite, short snout and blackish and grey coloration on the face. Incredibly unique something I never seen. Her eyes were so big but pained. It's just still staring at me. [SLAM] Eulysses, "Sorry I didnt meant to slam the door." I looked at him, "You didn't tell me you guy's have dolphin like creatures here!?" "We don't", he said. He looked at me like I was crazy. I tried to show him and it was gone. Just an empty tank. We continued to stroll through the date. Eulysesses, "What exactly did you see that was dolphin like?" I told him and he said it's a "Vaquita" and they are going extinct but he doesn't have any knowledge of that fish here. He knows they only carry fishes that come from the coral reefs and such. He said that they are only about 30-40 of the Vaquita's left in the ocean. He said unfortunately people who have tried to save them has died of shock and stress. He thinks it's odd that I actually saw one here, but doesn't believe it.

As we kept exploring he received a phone call that he had to answer so I let him be and just looked around some more. The lion fishes were cool and all but it was like a few swimming along with some clown fishes.

There's the shadow again; I know I'm not crazy! The fishes disappeared but the shadow swimming towards me is here, I can see her clearly now. I started to rush Eulysses and she followed along with me then I stopped. I slowly walked to the other direction and she followed again. It was the strangest thing it's like we are synced in a way. We had a moment a peace and quiet while Eulysses is on the phone. Something about this creature is sad you can feel it through her eyes. Just terrified to be alone with no family. Eye to eye. I began to tear because I know that feeling. Trying to be independent, find yourself and being on your own. Shit can be stressful. My date is back and tried to show him and she disappeared again. He suggested this tour to be over because he got annoyed by me trying to convince that the Vaquita is here.

I'm getting tired so it's whatever. As we were walking out I see her again but this shadow just following Eulysses and I but at the exact pace. Why couldn't he see it but only I can. I was trying hard not to turn my head because I know my date was already annoyed. I couldn't contain the excitement in myself, when I finally looked we had already passed all the tanks all I see was my reflection in the mirror then he looked too and smile. "Your rare and unique in your own way it's incredible." He said. I immediately teared up but didn't show it but smiled and kissed him on the cheek and we walked home to safety.

Nature
1

About the Creator

Exile

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.