Critique logo

Where the Crawdads Sing

More like, "Where the Crawdads Sank," amiright?

By Helen SederPublished 9 months ago Updated 8 months ago 1 min read
Runner-Up in Critique Challenge
11
Where the Crawdads Sing
Photo by Autumn Bradley on Unsplash

Cons:

    • Big “Not Like Other Girls” energy from the heroine ;
    • Heavy lean on the “Magical Negro” trope;
    • Some of the worst poetry ever written ;
    • Imagine an interesting love-triangle/murder mystery. Take out what makes it interesting.

    Pros:

  • Your aunt probably loved it! Y’all can discuss it at holidays;
  • Technically a book.

Novel
11

About the Creator

Helen Seder

Art doesn’t need to be “good.” It just needs to be.

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Expert insights and opinions

    Arguments were carefully researched and presented

  2. Eye opening

    Niche topic & fresh perspectives

  3. On-point and relevant

    Writing reflected the title & theme

Add your insights

Comments (10)

Sign in to comment
  • Mackenzie Davis8 months ago

    Is it weird that I got all those vibes from NOT engaging in any of the hype? Lol. I love that you didn't like it. This is such a creative take on the challenge. Congrats on placing!

  • KB8 months ago

    This is incredibly accurate and hilarious. Congrats!!

  • Grz Colm8 months ago

    I got halfway through the film version a couple of days ago. So bland. Just stuck around for the setting and to find out the “mystery”..but started to lose interest fast, haha. I’m loved this mini critique. Great job!! And congrats on your runner up prize! 😊👏

  • E.K. Daniels8 months ago

    Ooh loved the unique pro/con approach and biting analysis. Well done!

  • Ava Mack8 months ago

    Okay this is amazing and hilarious. I've always been skeptical of this book but now I kinda want to read it just to see your cons come to life! Congrats, Helen!

  • Raymond G. Taylor8 months ago

    The title has always put me off so thanks for confirming what would otherwise have been no more than prejudice on my part. Congratulations on your win.

  • Bri Craig8 months ago

    I read this after hearing SUCH great things about it.... but I hated it! So thank you for showing me I wasn't crazy for telling my book club that I didn't see the appeal.

  • Kendall Defoe 8 months ago

    Yeah, I knew it was crap. Great review!

  • Sarah Glass9 months ago

    The "take out what's interesting" took me out! I haven't read it and I don't think I plan on reading it. I kept hearing mixed reviews about it so I decided not to.

  • Alivia Varvel9 months ago

    "Technically a book" made me laugh way too hard.

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.