Critique logo

The Fear of Rejection

Discussing the critique process.

By Ashley LimaPublished 8 months ago Updated 8 months ago 4 min read
16
The Fear of Rejection
Photo by Steve Johnson on Unsplash

I've been doing some scary things lately. These are things that I have been putting off. I didn't quite realize I was putting them off, but now that I'm through to the other side, it's clear that I was.

I've recently finished editing my debut novel. It's the most complete manuscript to date, it's as polished as it could be, but I could have had it done 2 months ago if I just had the gall to do it.

Now, why was I putting it off?

That much is simple: The fear of rejection.

If I never would have finished, If I never would have brought it to the point where it needed more eyes to find flaws, I wouldn't have to worry about the potential gut punch. In a sense, my ego was getting in the way of my growth, but now there's no going back.

Currently, my book is out there. It's in the hands of some talented writers who are going to let me know what's going right and what's going wrong. Their feedback will be essential in my next round of edits, and I'm excited, scared, proud, and nervous, all at the same time.

I knew, that once I put my work out there in any capacity, I needed to prepare myself for people to tell me: "It's bad."

That's not something anyone wants to hear, but it's something sometimes we need to hear. So, let's talk more about it.

I was faced with rejecting someone yesterday, and it had me feeling so horrible. I am in a writer's Facebook group, and when discussing where to go next with my manuscript, many people suggested I get some outside eyes to beta-read my book. I swallowed my pride and said, "fuck it," it was time.

I was then referred to multiple Facebook groups for beta readers and critique swaps. I posted my little synopsis, word count, and what I was looking for. Then, I got a bite.

It was a budding, young author with a compelling story about coming of age, womanhood, and female empowerment. The person wanted to swap manuscripts for critique. Awesome!

We decided to start off with a handful of sample pages. I sent mine, they sent theirs, and we were off to the races.

Unfortunately, upon reading the other author's sample pages, it was evident that we were not a good match for the sole reason that their work was not ready for this step in the process. Some issues included: multiple quotes from different people in the same paragraph with no dialogue tags, run-on sentences, and a lack of clarifying punctuation. It was hard to follow their story.

It's difficult as writers because we know what we are writing so well. We can see it in our heads. We know who's talking. We're grounded in that world. It's essential we use the correct language and grammatical conventions to convey what's on our mind to the pages. This story wasn't able to do that. It simply needed more work.

My stomach dropped. I knew I was going to have a send a message that this person was not expecting. I decided to go above and beyond, and I still do not know if what I did was a good idea, but I did it with the intention of aiding this writer in their future endeavors.

While it was intended to be a beta read, I ended up going through their sample pages, line by line, tracking changes, making edits, and leaving developmental notes. It took me two hours to do. I then messaged the person a long message as kindly as possible, explaining the them the reasoning for why I did what I did and why we couldn't continue in this partnership.

I was left on read, which is completely understandable. I'm saying all of this because it was a big lesson for me. I know I am ready to handle the negatives that may come from my beta readers. I've put it off, I've mentally prepared, and I know what critique entails to its fullest extent.

However, I've learned that some people might not realize what it actually means to have their work under a critical eye. I feel really bad that I had to say these hard things to this writer, but if no one tells them, how will they grow?

It's difficult putting your heart and soul into something only to realize it's not where you thought it was. While stories are important, if the grammatical mechanics aren't there, the story will not be able to shine. If you are getting ready to undergo critique, make sure you have a comprehensive understanding of what that means. Know that your critiquers are not coming for you to be mean, but to aid in your process. Keep an open mind, but shield your heart. You must be past the fear of rejection.

I hope I did the right thing. I really feel I did the right thing. But there is still this pounding guilt inside of me knowing that I hurt someone's feelings.

With that, here are the questions one needs to ask to know if they're ready for critique:

  1. Have you self-edited for spelling?
  2. Have you read through it so many times that you are having trouble seeing what might be going wrong?
  3. Have you made sure your work follows all proper grammatical conventions?
  4. Are you prepared to hear things you don't want to hear?
  5. Have you moved past the fear of rejection?

Essay
16

About the Creator

Ashley Lima

I think about writing more than I write, but call myself a writer as opposed to a thinker.

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  2. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

  3. Expert insights and opinions

    Arguments were carefully researched and presented

  1. Eye opening

    Niche topic & fresh perspectives

  2. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

  3. Masterful proofreading

    Zero grammar & spelling mistakes

  4. On-point and relevant

    Writing reflected the title & theme

Add your insights

Comments (9)

Sign in to comment
  • Dharrsheena Raja Segarran8 months ago

    I would feel as guilty as you're feeling but just like you, I would also feel that I did the right thing. I would have debated whether or not to tell this person the truth but I would have decided to tell the truth and to be as kind as possible, like you did. So sorry they left you on read. Some people just aren't ready for it. I'm so glad you've mentally prepared yourself for this. I wish you all the best!

  • Test8 months ago

    Yes, that's always the fear, and we always have our best works and some that are not our best... but input is always helpful. At the end of the day, you are a terrific writer, no doubt💙Anneliese

  • Ariel Joseph8 months ago

    I used to be a ballerina, my older cousin was too, only she was on a pretty professional level. I remember I'd get so upset about being critiqued by my teacher and felt she was picking on me. When I told my cousin she told me to not be upset when I was receiving critiques, but to save my worry for when my teacher completely stopped giving notes. Her theory was if someone cares enough to critique it's a good thing, they believe you have potential and want to help you reach it. Not receiving any critique doesn't automatically mean you're perfect, it might mean no one cares enough to give notes. I think about that all the time. It's a hard lesson to learn but everyone has room to improve. You did the right thing for sure, and I'm sure they will realize that eventually, and how kind it was of you to even give your time addressing areas that could improve.

  • ThatWriterWoman8 months ago

    You absolutely did the right thing! If you lie to someone, you are setting them up for a harsher moment down the line.

  • Babs Iverson8 months ago

    Giving feedback on the good and honest on what needs to be improved, should be a win-win. Including the questions to ask yourself before having your work critiqued, is an excellent touch to your article!!!

  • Lana V Lynx8 months ago

    I admire your integrity. As a published academic, I've learned early enough that rejection is a part of process and you just need to revise and resubmit if you want to see your stuff published. I also agree with you wholeheartedly that people should never share their first drafts until you've read it several times yourself.

  • Ian Read8 months ago

    I have been in this situation many times. Not for books, mind, but other things. This is why when I review, I review like I would want my work reviewed. I try to be brutally honest, but in a constructive way. There's no sense in being like "x, y, and z are bad, do it again", that's just bad critiquing. I will typically discuss what I didn't like along with what I loved privately with the person and discuss their intention for the work and how best to achieve it. That's what I'd want people to do with me.

  • Great and Relatable- ❤️💯📝👌📚🌈

  • Mark Gagnon8 months ago

    Honesty is and will always be the best policy. The real world isn't cruel, it's honest. No matter how many times our mothers tell us we're special, it's simply not true. Recognition is earned and people should understand that if they're willing to put themselves out for review. So, don't feel bad for being honest. Okay, I'm off my soapbox now.

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.