Critique logo

College Degrees

A 50-word critique... Signed, a disenfranchised college graduate.

By Ashley LimaPublished 9 months ago β€’ 1 min read
Top Story - August 2023
64
College Degrees
Photo by Lewis Keegan on Unsplash

The most expensive piece of paper one may ever own. Signed off and sealed, making the empty promises that higher education brings extra official. Garnered after many nights of justified tears and many words written on topics one can't even remember. C's get degrees, but good jobs are never promised.

Essay
64

About the Creator

Ashley Lima

I think about writing more than I write, but call myself a writer as opposed to a thinker.

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

  2. Expert insights and opinions

    Arguments were carefully researched and presented

  3. On-point and relevant

    Writing reflected the title & theme

  1. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  2. Masterful proofreading

    Zero grammar & spelling mistakes

  3. Eye opening

    Niche topic & fresh perspectives

  4. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

  5. Excellent storytelling

    Original narrative & well developed characters

Add your insights

Comments (42)

Sign in to comment
  • Syed Hussnain ALi Shah8 months ago

    degree is just piece of paper its your talent that matter

  • Jenna Tidd8 months ago

    Well said! I saw too many college graduates become cashiers at the grocery store and struggle to pay off student loans.

  • Mother Combs8 months ago

    great critique

  • Grz Colm8 months ago

    Congrats on your leaderboard placement Ashley! πŸ˜ŠπŸŽ‰πŸŽ‰

  • Mark Graham8 months ago

    How true, but I liked going to school and earning my degrees and advanced degrees, and now I am reviewing books and textbooks and using what I learned.

  • Babs Iverson8 months ago

    Congratulations on Top Story!!! πŸ’•β€οΈβ€οΈ

  • Awesome and Congratulations on your Top StoryπŸŽ‰βœ¨πŸ’–πŸ‘

  • Gerald Holmes8 months ago

    Very well done. You speak to a truth here. Congrats on Top Story

  • Lamar Wiggins8 months ago

    Ahhh, those promises that no one can keep! Glad you got this one in on time. Love the tone of it. Congrats on your top story!

  • Grz Colm9 months ago

    Hey, congrats on your top story Ashley!! πŸ˜ŠπŸ‘

  • Caroline Jane9 months ago

    🀣🀣🀣 creative, unique, and dead-pan funny. Congratulations on the top story.

  • Kate Williams9 months ago

    Great read and well thought!

  • C’s get degrees! That got us through the pressure of uni too!!! Brilliant and deserved Top Story!

  • CPA NM Duncan9 months ago

    I totally agreed with you. Two degrees and I have no job.

  • This comment has been deleted

  • Susanna Kiernan9 months ago

    As a drop out I love this

  • Kendall Defoe 9 months ago

    Too much truth here. Glad it is a TS (what else could it be)... ;)

  • Lana V Lynx9 months ago

    As a college professor, I feel as if we've failed you. I do hope that one day something will come up where your degree will be proven valuable.

  • Real Poetic9 months ago

    Love this! Couldn’t agree more!

  • Tiffany Gordon 9 months ago

    Brilliantly crafted & so so true! I just gave you a standing ovation (although my knees almost went out! LOL πŸ˜‚) for this one! Go gurl! This was fantastic! I hope that this critique places because it is creative and outstanding!πŸ‘πŸΎπŸ‘πŸΎπŸ‘πŸΎπŸ‘πŸΎ

  • Antoinette L Brey9 months ago

    It’s a unspoken promise.

  • Bri Craig9 months ago

    A very valid and interesting critique

  • Dean F. Hardy9 months ago

    One of the more thoughy provoking critiques. I share some of the disappointments here although not so much the financial aspect. Being in Ireland allows for far cheaper Third Level education than the States. Don't know how you all deal with the burden. But the disappointment in the atmosphere of university life. From students and educators. It was grim. I think I built up this idea of a glorious battle ground of passion and ideas, but when I arrived it was a flat fart in the wind. Nobody gave a fuck about anything. I was gutted. That being said, having the degree opened up opportunity to garner further options in education which could only be presented if I held a degree in the first place. I think the difference in experience those who get a liberal arts degree (myself) to those who went into more career focused degrees, is significant. Everytime I got really low about my degree and was trying to justify it's worth I would listen to David Foster Wallace's commencement speech, "This Is Water." If you haven't, I recommend. Sorry about this dumpster fire comment. I never write them this long πŸ€“πŸ‘ˆ

  • Dana Crandell9 months ago

    Congratulations on Top Story! Personally, I hope your efforts pay off and I believe they will. As a writer without a degree, I see jobs that I want going to those who have one. In fact, I see more freelance gigs posted requiring it, recently. I do understand your outlook and don't necessarily disagree, but the fact is, there's a huge workforce to draw from and the struggle is real, but I still believe you're better equipped for it. Just my opinion and my hope for your sucess.

  • Dyllon Rodillon9 months ago

    Congrats on the TS!

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

Β© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.