Critique logo

The Colleen Hoover Effect

A 50-word critique. I am still a hater.

By Ashley LimaPublished 9 months ago 1 min read
12
The Colleen Hoover Effect
Photo by Anita Jankovic on Unsplash

No, Mom. I will not write Colleen Hoover-esque books, no matter how much money they make. I don't think glorifying pseudo-incest and domestic violence is ever a good thing. There must be better books for people to read. Lily Bloom, the florist... Really?

Predictable, poorly-written; they're a DNR(ead) from me.

Essay
12

About the Creator

Ashley Lima

I think about writing more than I write, but call myself a writer as opposed to a thinker.

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Expert insights and opinions

    Arguments were carefully researched and presented

  2. Eye opening

    Niche topic & fresh perspectives

  3. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

Add your insights

Comments (7)

Sign in to comment
  • Scott Christenson9 months ago

    I read about 50 pages of Colleen Hoover to see what its about. Incredibly simple prose. Kind of like an ego boost in a way, anyone can do this if they want to. Its a lot like the kind of like the stuff on Wattpad.

  • I have not read any of her books but its like super hyped up. People worship her. I had no idea that her books glorified pseudo-incest! I've only been interested in Verity and Layla as they're thrillers but now I'm having second thoughts.

  • Mother Combs9 months ago

    :D:D:D

  • N.J. Gallegos 9 months ago

    Lol this made me laugh.

  • L.C. Schäfer9 months ago

    Couldn't agree more, utter trash! 😁

  • Alivia Varvel9 months ago

    Thank GOD someone else said it.

  • Mark Gagnon9 months ago

    Not a problem! Don't know who she is or what she has published but based on your review I never will.

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.