Critique logo

That Didn't Age Well

A 21st-Century Take On A Cult Classic

By Ashley McGeePublished 9 months ago 1 min read
5
Michael Crawford (left) and Sarah Brightman (right) in the 1986 production of Andrew Lloyd Weber's seminal work, The Phantom Of The Opera (image courtesy of The Guardian https://www.theguardian.com/stage/2014/may/19/phantom-of-the-opera-musicals-we-love)

Admit it Millennials, your first toxic love was Le Phantom.

Go ahead, listen to it now and see how many times you shout, "No is a complete sentence!" at your streaming service.

The Phantom Of The Opera!

Or as I like to call it, One Woman's Fight For Bodily Autonomy.

Character DevelopmentPlayMusic
5

About the Creator

Ashley McGee

Austin, TX | GrimDark, Fantasy, Horror, Western, and nonfiction | Amazon affiliate and Vocal Ambassador | Tips and hearts appreciated! | Want to see more from me? Consider dropping me a pledge! | RIP Jason David Frank!

Reader insights

Nice work

Very well written. Keep up the good work!

Top insights

  1. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

  2. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

  3. On-point and relevant

    Writing reflected the title & theme

Add your insights

Comments (4)

Sign in to comment
  • L.C. Schäfer9 months ago

    This one passed me by! Do you recommend?

  • I've never watched it but I've read it. And yes I did have a crush on the Phantom, lol! In my defense, I was 14, lol!

  • ema9 months ago

    wow, I've never seen it this way 😮

  • Sian N. Clutton9 months ago

    This is excellent and funny! Here are my attempts at funny entries... https://vocal.media/critique/my-critique-of-the-critique-challenge-itself https://vocal.media/critique/a-critique-of-the-ex

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.