Critique logo

Queen Cleopatra

A story of wasted potential

By Natasja RosePublished 9 months ago 1 min read
6

Cleopatra was:

  • A skilled diplomat and politician
  • Gifted in languages and oration
  • Powerful and intelligent

Cleopatra was NOT

  • African-American
  • Sub-Saharan

I regret the missed opportunity to tell the stories of actual Black Queens.

I feel sorry for everyone who attached their name to this project, and had their credibility tanked.

Nonfiction
6

About the Creator

Natasja Rose

I've been writing since I learned how, but those have been lost and will never see daylight (I hope).

I'm an Indie Author, with 30+ books published.

I live in Sydney, Australia

Follow me on Facebook or Medium if you like my work!

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (5)

Sign in to comment
  • Raymond G. Taylor2 months ago

    Astute comment and shows how we so often misinterpret history by projecting our own, and current-day, values back in time. If you are interested in black queens, you could try Yaa Asantewaa I (1840 - 1921) who was Queen of Ejisu in the Ashanti Empire, now Ghana. She led the war of the golden stool against the British.

  • I'm sorry, Natasja, I'm not familiar with the project. But thank you for warning me away.

  • Lilly Cooper9 months ago

    I've seen the previews for this documentary and that was enough to tell me I did not want to watch it. I love all thongs ancient Egyptian, but this was not enticing at all. You are not alone in feeling let down by the execution of that project.

  • Sheila L. Chingwa9 months ago

    Thank you for that!

  • Leslie Writes9 months ago

    Interesting. I have not seen this one. I would also like to see more black queens on screen!

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.