Critique logo

Out of My Mind

critique

By Mark GrahamPublished about a month ago โ€ข 1 min read
3
classroom (pexels.com)

'Out of My Mind' is a novel written by Sharon M. Draper. This is the story of a young girl named Melody Brooks who has a form of Cerebral Palsy. She is a special student in many ways starting in Kindergarten and well into the elementary school years and starting in the special education classroom and being treated like she cannot learn, but she shows that she can learn. This is a book that has been published quite awhile ago, but it is a book that was written when inclusion 'mainstreaming' for special education students were just starting in the schools. It shows and tells that just because you are physically handicapped does not mean that you are also mentally handicapped. Sharon M. Draper goes into a lot of detail of how Melody was raised and how she shows that she is smart in many ways if she cannot walk and talk. This would also be a good book for Social service workers/counselors to read in my opinion.

ThemeFeedback Requested
3

About the Creator

Mark Graham

I am a person who really likes to read and write and to share what I learned with all my education. My page will mainly be book reviews and critiques of old and new books that I have read and will read. There will also be other bits, too.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (1)

Sign in to comment
  • Kendall Defoe about a month ago

    I'm very curious about this one. Thank you for the information!

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

ยฉ 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.