Critique logo

Not gonna cry

Out of my comfort zone

By Hannah MoorePublished 9 months ago Updated 9 months ago 3 min read
5

I ain't no crybaby. Except when it comes to elephants. There is some kind of pathos with elephants which means I cry easily where elephants are involved. And my son recently suggested a put down a book which featured on its cover both the word "goodbye" and an image of a dog. He is wise.

However, when it comes to my Vocal use, I ain't no crybaby. When positive feedback comes, I glow a little, yes. (I glow a lot.) But I want the critical feedback so I can grow a little too. And yet, I hesitate to offer it to others. The etiquette seems to be "if you have nothing nice to say, dont say anything at all", or that is what I have lived by. So I was excited about the new "critique" community. And then, after an initial flurry of trying to read work by others and offer thoughts, I was rather quiet.

Naomi Gold's story "Challenge for Crybabies" caught my attention this morning - in bed, on holiday, with my cup of tea. Above is a picture I took yesterday, on holiday, not with a cup of tea. I'm on holiday, I thought, I am taking a break from....things I like? I read the story. And I want to take up the challenge. Not because I sit here daily seething about the Top Story selection process, or because I resent those that do well, or because I feel my work is more worthy than that of others. But because this story challenged me to do something I wanted to do - but felt too embarrassed to do. Its like being told to wear the sequins when you both want to sparkle, and dont want to be seen. In the picture above, I am diving into the deep, uncomfortable, and relishing it. And so here I go.

I want feedback. I write pieces which I think are substandard. This is normal. I am not worried about them. I also write pieces I think are good....but not that good. I write pieces for challenges which I am proud of, pleased with, but I KNOW will not win. I am not disappointed when they don't place (though, if I have a criticism to make of Vocal it is that I wish I knew they were at least read by the judges - not winning is fine, but I would like to feel confident I was considered!), I am not surprised that they are not made Top Stories. But I AM unsure how to make them better. And here is my embarrassment. To ask others to take the time to read and critique my work feels a bit like asking random other shoppers to put down their own agendas and come and try on sequins with me. But I am going to do it. I am going to put myself out there. I aint no crybaby, so, if you feel able to accompany me to the fitting rooms, please, feel free to bring on the critique!

I have chosen a few pieces of work here, none TOO recent, none that might still go somewhere, maybe. These are pieces of work that I felt good about - like, 80% good about. There are a few. Pass on by if your day is a busy one, do. Or pick one, two? Gorge yourself on giving free rein to your meanest tendencies? Any feedback would, genuinely, be much appreciated. And as a rule - please feel free to leave compliments...and constructive criticism, any time you read my work!

And for those who do offer some thoughts, and to those who have offered some thoughts, thank you, for helping me to both glow, and grow.

Feedback Requested
5

About the Creator

Hannah Moore

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (4)

Sign in to comment
  • Mackenzie Davis8 months ago

    I found it! I will take a gander at these stories later today and this weekend. I did not see this when you originally posted! I am always happy to reciprocate feedback. Bravo to you for being courageous in this. It can feel quite intimidating to put your work out for criticism; i am having some difficulty reading the comments on the stories I put up for feedback. Will need to brace myself. Sorry again that I missed this, Hannah. 😳

  • I cry easily when there's animals involved so I totally get the elephant thing. I certainly follow 'If you have nothing nice to say, then don't say anything at all'. I cannotttttt for the life of me give feedbacks whether it's solicited or not. So I always leave compliments. I'm so sorry that I'm not much of a help 😅 Also, I loved your photo!

  • Teresa Renton9 months ago

    I’ve got more used to critique and workshopping pieces but still find it difficult to offer it, especially in very public spaces like this. I think it probably works better in smaller groups where you share for example, a google doc, and others can comment. But here, it’s probably easier to use the positive feedback method with more general feedback? I’m happy to be disembowelled here though 😂. My one question is, what do we do with our pieces afterwards? We can’t move them, and we can’t submit to many places because reprints are rarely accepted 🤷‍♀️. Your idea of providing links is one good way of not committing pieces to the Critique valley forever 😊

  • L.C. Schäfer9 months ago

    I relate to this very much. I'm the sort who HATES anyone seeing what I write, but at the same time I know I need genuine feedback to get better at it. Thank fuck for the internet where the anonymity allows me to straddle those comfort zones. Also just wanted to mention I did a wee shout out to you in my most recent one 😁

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.