Critique logo

Never Let Me Go

The evisceration of Kazuo Ishiguro

By Hannah MoorePublished 10 months ago 1 min read
15
Never Let Me Go
Photo by Colin Lloyd on Unsplash

As ever, reading Ishiguro is like spending a genteel evening in pleasant, company. The talk is sometimes funny, occasionally a little sorrowful, always engaging. Only when he bids you goodnight, and you close the book, do you look down to find yourself stripped naked and gazing at your own innards.

Novel
15

About the Creator

Hannah Moore

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Expert insights and opinions

    Arguments were carefully researched and presented

  2. Eye opening

    Niche topic & fresh perspectives

  3. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

Add your insights

Comments (13)

Sign in to comment
  • Musa Nuhu 8 months ago

    Touché, had to get a hold of myself wow

  • Mackenzie Davis9 months ago

    Omg, Hannah, that sounds utterly poetic. I must read this, now! Your review is startling, but I feel it must capture Ishiguro's writing perfectly. Well done!

  • Rachel Deeming9 months ago

    Bloody hell. Yes, I get that completely.

  • Novel Allen9 months ago

    I hope that was metaphorical. I agree with LC about the blurbs. I wrote a few myself. This was open and raw. Well done.

  • L.C. Schäfer9 months ago

    Best review I've seen so far I think! Some people are just rewriting blurbs, but THIS one really leaves your reader in no doubt at all about your feelings on your subject 😁 Eloquent and visceral, right up my alley.

  • What! After that ending I half to find out more about this book

  • Natalie Wilkinson10 months ago

    Wow.

  • Oh wow, your review was so deep! I gotta check it out!

  • Jazzy 10 months ago

    Wow this is so intriguing. 😳

  • Rachael MacDonald10 months ago

    That ol' trickery! too right you are!

  • Teresa Renton10 months ago

    You are 💯 spot on. Fantastic book and the first of his I read. Great piece of writing!

  • Tiffany Gordon 10 months ago

    Phenomenal work!

  • Scott Christenson10 months ago

    "find yourself stripped naked and gazing at your own innards" that's a good summary. its the only Kazuo Ishiguro book I have read and I found it incredibly original, unsettling, and a book that makes us think of parallels with the general human condition of all of us.

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.