Critique logo

Everything wrong with “NOPE” In 50 words.

Alien flick goes awry.

By Lamar WigginsPublished 9 months ago Updated 9 months ago 1 min read
22
Image from Youtube.com

It's a Western, Horror, Sci-fi film. -2pts

Key images fail to move the story along. -6pts

Dark scenery frequently shrouds crucial scenes. -7pts

Alien's anatomy defies explanation. -1pt

Decent acting ruined by plot holes. -5pts

-21 out of -50.

Do the math... Root canals are less painful than watching NOPE.

"WTF is it! Some kind of elaborate parachute?" Pic from dazeddigital.com

MovieFiction
22

About the Creator

Lamar Wiggins

Creative writer in the Northeast US who loves the paranormal, mystery, true crime, horror, humor, fantasy and poetry. Take a chance, you'll be thoroughly entertained.

"Life is Love Experienced" -LW

LDubs

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Expert insights and opinions

    Arguments were carefully researched and presented

  2. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

  3. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

  1. Excellent storytelling

    Original narrative & well developed characters

  2. Eye opening

    Niche topic & fresh perspectives

  3. On-point and relevant

    Writing reflected the title & theme

Add your insights

Comments (22)

Sign in to comment
  • Gerard DiLeo8 months ago

    Yes, it was a mess. Also, the theme of cruelty to others (animals, species, etc.) was understated: the connection between manipulating animals (chimps, horses) with come-uppance via the aliens at the wild west/alien show just failed to resonate.

  • Alex H Mittelman 8 months ago

    Yup!

  • Caroline Jane9 months ago

    🤣 A robust critique! Like how you played this. Really smart.

  • Veronica Coldiron9 months ago

    I wholeheartedly endorse this critique.

  • Cendrine Marrouat9 months ago

    I tried to like the movie, but I still wonder what I watched. It made zero sense. This movie made zero sense. Love your review!

  • Cathy holmes9 months ago

    Lol. Sounds great.

  • Sian N. Clutton9 months ago

    I haven't seen it and after your critique I don't think I shall! Funny stuff!

  • Grz Colm9 months ago

    It was so bizarre and uneven..right! I was entertained by a few parts but after it ended I was very disappointed - particularly as it had so much potential. I agree with a lot of what you’ve stated. I cannot remember exactly, but doing some research online it was supposed to have a subtext of commenting on the state of the film industry.. so a bit of an arty/horror film. It just didn’t land for me. You’ve provided a really apt, fun and creative Critique of the film. 👏😃

  • Naomi Gold9 months ago

    Haven’t watched this (nor have I wanted to), but this critique is the funniest I’ve read so far. I feel I’d agree with it if I did watch the film. Now US on the other hand… that movie is incredible.

  • I disagree with you strongly, Lamar, yet appreciate your review. (Someone has to keep it from scoring 100 on Rotten Tomatoes, lol.)

  • Hahahahahhahahahahaha hilarious! This was such a creative approach!

  • Dana Stewart9 months ago

    Haha, the ratings system. You’re like Rotten Tomatoes but you’re much funnier

  • Joelle E🌙9 months ago

    Haha!! My boyfriend loves this movie. I personally felt like, is there a point to this..? Nice review :)

  • Tiffany Gordon 9 months ago

    LOL! I love what you did here! Great job!

  • Raymond G. Taylor9 months ago

    Great critique. Brief and to the point

  • Mother Combs9 months ago

    Even though I liked the movie, you did a great critique

  • Oh wow I never heard of this before but this was a well written review

  • Jazzy 9 months ago

    What a great idea, scorecards! Have to say I loved the movie and the soundtrack 😂😩

  • J. S. Wade9 months ago

    Really like your scorecard Lamar. Good review 😎

  • Suze Kay9 months ago

    Bummer this movie didn’t do it for you! I rewatched it last week and must confess I loved it… but as someone who loves art history, I think I picked up on some referential things in the landscape shots and key images that brought me joy and weren’t super accessible. Which is not great for a big box office flick. Did you like Get Out?

  • Awesome 😎 Great job ❤️📝💯👍‼️

  • Real Poetic9 months ago

    Never had a root canal but I’m sure they’re painful as hell lol !! Lamar this is so funny. Thank you for saving me from watching this. I like Jordan Peele too though! Such a great actor. It appears from your critique that the plot itself fell short. Thanks for sharing your honest opinion.

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.