Critique logo

Ever After (1998, dir. Andy Tennant)

“In all my years of study, not one tutor ever demonstrated the passion you have shown me in the last two days. You have more conviction in one memory than I have... in my entire being.”

By Mackenzie DavisPublished 10 months ago 1 min read
Ever After (1998, dir. Andy Tennant)
Photo by Joackim Weiler on Unsplash

Cinderella was real. Find her in Da Vinci’s yellowed sketches: a downcast, gentle gaze.

Love roots between gilded thievery and servant lies, a tryst of two kindred minds. Imprisoned, yet headstrong, they learn softness, compromise, & trust.

Against societal chains sprouts the most retold fairytale in the world.

Laugh. Swoon… Believe.

Movie

About the Creator

Mackenzie Davis

“When you are describing a shape, or sound, or tint, don’t state the matter plainly, but put it in a hint. And learn to look at all things with a sort of mental squint.” Lewis Carroll

Find me elsewhere.

Copyright Mackenzie Davis.

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For Free

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  2. Eye opening

    Niche topic & fresh perspectives

Add your insights

Comments (6)

  • The Invisible Writer10 months ago

    I just watched this movie with my youngest last night. Using the quote in the subtitle was brilliant. Da Vinci was my favorite character I loved the humor, personality they portrayed him with.

  • Rachael MacDonald10 months ago

    Loved the chosen quote! I just showed my 3 daughter this movie last month :) well done ❤️🍿

  • Your critique is poetry! Beautiful.

  • I never heard of this movie but I love retellings so I gotta check this out! Loved your review!

  • My favorite telling of Cinderella. Beautiful critique.

  • Lamar Wiggins10 months ago

    Very well-crafted critique! I love the word choices you used.

Mackenzie DavisWritten by Mackenzie Davis

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.