Critique logo

Delegating and Assigning

critique

By Mark GrahamPublished 21 days ago 1 min read
4
old typewriter (pexels.com)

I was reading an article in a nursing newspaper 'The Pelican News' for April, May and June of this year. The article that I read feels like it could appeal to all professions is entitled 'Delegating and Assigning: What You Need to Know'. The author Cynthia Saver has blocked out at the end of the article 'Five Rights of Delegation'. I am going to retype these five verbatim for I do not want to misinterpret them.

1. Right task. The task needs to fall within the delegatee's job description or is part of organizational policies and procedures.

2. Right circumstance. The patient must be stable. (employee must be able to accomplish).

3. Right person. The delegatee must have the appropriate skills and knowledge to perform the task.

4. Right directions and communication. Clear directions need to be given, with the delegator verifying understanding by the delegatee. Communication must be two-way, with the delegatee asking questions if needed.

5. Right supervision and evaluation. The delegator needs to monitor the delegated activity, including evaluating patient (employee) outcomes.

(The article covers the difference between delegating and assigning and the various responsibilities of each person. As well as some special cases.)

(Note: the terms 'delegatee' is the spelling the author used, so I left it the way she spelled the term.')

(I am hoping for comments in answering this question at 'Do you feel that these rights will fit in with any other professions or just nursing?'

NonfictionFeedback Requested
4

About the Creator

Mark Graham

I am a person who really likes to read and write and to share what I learned with all my education. My page will mainly be book reviews and critiques of old and new books that I have read and will read. There will also be other bits, too.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (2)

Sign in to comment
  • Shirley Belk20 days ago

    Yes...I see it working in many fields! Thank you for sharing. I'm going to post on FB for my nursing buddies to see, too.

  • Both of them play a pivotal role in the principles of management

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.