Criminal logo

Who knew

My acting debut

By Rose RosalesPublished 2 years ago Updated 2 years ago 3 min read
Like
Who knew
Photo by Jakob Owens on Unsplash

I never really gave acting much thought, until this one day that I was going to have to give an Oscar winning performance. It all started one morning in the heat of summer. I got a phone call from my brother. He's yelling that his so- called homeboys had taken his ring. A ring that our mother had given to him before she died. I ask him, what do you want to do about it? In six plane words he says, " I want you to get it" WTF is my first thought, but then I get this fucken crazy idea that I would pretend to be my brother's probation officer. You see my brothers so called homeboys didn't know me, so I had the advantage. I borrowed a friend of mines security badge and name tag and headed to the motel where my brother and homeboys were. Here goes nothing, I get there and knock at the door. This guy comes to the door, he's all sleeved out and sporting a black bandana. I show him the badge and ask for Tony, followed by I'm his probation officer and I'm trying to keep him from going to jail. By this time two more guys are at the door freaking out thinking I'm a cop. I see my brother standing way back in the room, I tell these guys I just want to tell him that he needs to come with me quietly or I would have the whole dept. down there in a matter of seconds. The one that I think is the shot caller tells my brother, look homie we don't want any shit, so my brother sees that as his q to go. As I'm walking with him towards my vehicle, I tell him that I'm going to cuff him and to just follow my lead. I call him a piece of shit for taking his father's jewelry, but I understand that he has an addiction that has compelled him to do such stupid acts. If he just gives me the jewelry, I can keep him from going to jail. I'm saying this pretty loud because his homeboys are still tuning in. So, then my brother says to me, that he thinks he left it on or by the restroom sink. Here goes nothing, I put my brother in the back seat of my car and return to the homeboys. I tell them that they need to stay away from that piece of shit I just put in my car. If they cooperated and handed me the jewelry he had stashed inside, I would not call police back up and they could go on with their merry day. Before I could finish the sentence, the so- call leader hands me two rings and says there won't be any cops, huh miss. I look to him and assure him that they had nothing to worry about, unlike their friend in my car. I thank them for being so cooperative. I turn away and walk towards the car. As I'm getting closer to this ordeal being over, I feel a sense of accomplishment come over me. I also think about it could have gone wrong in a thousand different ways. When I finally get inside my vehicle I turn to my brother and tell him I got your ring back, plus one. Please don't ever put me to have to do something as stupid as I had to do today. This was the first but not the last that I would have to put my acting ability to the test. Leave it to my brother there would be sequels.

fact or fictionfact or fiction
Like

About the Creator

Rose Rosales

My life could have been less hard knocks, but would it have been boring? All the obstacles,trials, and tragedies are probably what kept me going. Every time I was knocked down, I got back up. I didn't allow them to break me.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.