Criminal logo

The True Crime Ripple Effect

True Crime documentaries causes little and steady changes in their viewers without their awareness and this might just bring about the making of another documentary.

By Nneka AniezePublished 3 years ago 4 min read
1
The True Crime Ripple Effect
Photo by Maxim Hopman on Unsplash

True crime shit

Have you watched a lot of true crime stories and finding out the kind of fellowship they Attracted from people all over the world, it is my opinion and believe that perpetrators of those crimes shouldn’t be given a platform for the twisted and sadistic nature to be admired and glamorized. I realize my writing does not follow the guidelines stipulated by the current competition but I still want to steal this opportunity to shed light on an opinion I have held for a long time about the recent popular Genre called true crime documentaries.

In this Darkside of literal entertainment, you will find documentaries of serial murderers who have accumulated an uncountable number of human bodies over the course of their lifetime, a lot of them were caught and punished but some of them were not. At this point, I could give examples but would rather not because that when you get the aim of the writing. Some of them were never caught and the murders remain unsolved to date. We have come to a point in human history where such girl in real life details are considered entertainment and an avid interest for many people.

True crime documentaries hardly ever inspire fear no repentance and people that watch it and to demonstrate, I would tell you without specific references about my brief obsessions with true crime documentaries and stories. It started with the famous ones that of today are considered household names. You know, the ones that make regular appearances in Eminem‘s darker music. Yes, I was drawn, became fascinated and I think it was mostly one of the disgusting fascinations. The stories are always interesting with twists and turns, every single detail that could be found was done and displayed with many narrative and interpretations of the killers' mind by psychologist and experts from different fields. Some of the rations could even go as far as to draw on some childhood events in the killers' life, usually traumatizing that will lead them to such conclusions like, “maybe this was why he did it.” You can see and hear them actively trying to explain why another human being would kill any number between 1 to 200 other human beings over the course of 10 years. Do you see where I’m going?

Because of the idolization that these killers get from these documentaries, people usually get Putin and lead completely astray. Back to my story. So I went from the big names in the journal to the smaller ones that only killed one human or try to but didn’t really succeed. Pay attention to my choice of words, I said only killed one human. That’s because I have seen documentaries of people who killed hundreds, the 50s and even ate some of the victims so trickling down to killers who could only kill one or two people, I was not impressed. I seem to have detached myself from the fact that those numbers with people like me and my family members. Those numbers could have easily somebody close to me, a loved one.

Still, on the story, I made a friend who had a more disturbing interest in true-crime documentaries than I did. We would watch a documentary together and she would tell me what she would have done differently. She would tell me in explicit details the best way the body could have been disposed of and the way you absolutely should not bury a body on your property. The scary thing was that those were ideas that have crossed my mind based on the knowledge I have gathered from watching these crime documentaries. I had to check myself and I didn’t like what I found, it was ugly and had become very dark and twisted bearing a close resemblance to the killers in the story. I had no idea when the changes happened and I was disgusted at what I found but upon closer examination, I found that out I wasn’t shocked anymore or sad by what I hear. I still see myself as somebody that has the potential of a killer but just haven’t had the opportunity and that thinking was what drove me to stop watching true crime documentaries and I would recommend that people stop making such documentaries.

You see, People get into the habit of watching documentaries innocently and for entertainment but without realizing the slow and steady nature of the change it causes, they get sucked into it. They start to admire and compare skills, and values to those who have more body counts and unconsciously or quite consciously, take notes just in case they need to perform a similar act. To better understand, Applied this analogy to your deductions. You started out watching a friendly cooking show on the television or reading about it, then you admire the skills of the chef and the finest of all the dishes that he can make and which time you wonder if you can do the same thing if you did exactly as they instructed in the cooking show. Eventually, you will want to find out if your dish can be as good as the ones on the TV, do you want to try your hand at cooking a particular dish just to see if you have what it takes to be a chef. Replace cooking with killing and chef with a murderer and you will see the power of media.

tv review
1

About the Creator

Nneka Anieze

Hello there,

Nice to meet you. My name is Nneka, mom of one living in Windsor, Ontario. I enjoy reading a lot and have decided to try my hand at writing. Hoping to better my skills and perfect my writing skills. I hope you enjoy my writing

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.