Criminal logo

The Killer in My Closet

Uncovering the Truth About My Partner.

By DwriterPublished 12 months ago 6 min read
Like

I've always believed that I knew my partner. I trusted him implicitly because we had been together for so long. However, that was before I knew the truth. It began with an odd odor in our apartment. I initially assumed it was just a plumbing issue, but as the odor grew stronger, it became impossible to ignore. That's when I started looking into it. I began in the kitchen, assuming there would be some rotting or otherwise undesirable food there. However, after looking in the refrigerator and cabinets, I couldn't see anything unusual. I then made the decision to check the bedroom. I discovered the first hint there. a nasty-smelling, black stain on the carpet. This wasn't just a spilt drink or a small amount of blood, as I immediately realized. This was a far worse situation. I started digging through my partner's belongings for any other leads as I dug deeper. When I did, I discovered a bag. It was heavy and tucked away at the back of our closet. When I opened it, the contents made me sick to my stomach. Body parts, including a hand, a foot, and a few fingers, were there. There was also a ton of blood. I was seeing things that I couldn't believe. I liked and trusted my partner, yet he was a murderer. I was at a loss for what to do. With this weighing heavily on my mind, I was unable to simply depart. However, I also couldn't continue to be around someone who was capable of committing such a horrific act. Before my partner realized that I knew, I had to move quickly. I began by accumulating proof. I managed to obtain a few blood samples, and I also snapped images of the bag and its contents. I had to be careful since I knew I couldn't go to the police without any proof. But as I dug deeper, the more I understood how far this extended. I had no idea that my partner had been murdering people for years. He took measures to hide every detail and make sure that no one would ever learn of them. I had the stomach flu. How could I have been so clueless and foolish? Without realizing it, I had been with a monster. I started to worry more and more as the days went by. Nobody, not even my closest pals, could I confide in. I was constantly looking behind me for my partner to come attacking. Then it happened one day. I was sorting through his belongings when my partner arrived home early and caught me in the act. He was furious and loudly cursing and breaking down, but I didn't care. I was aware of what I had to do. My partner moved too quickly as I sprinted for the door. He grabbed me and dragged me back inside the apartment. As I struggled to breathe, I could feel the adrenaline rushing through my body. If I wanted to protect both myself and anyone else who could be in danger, I had to take action immediately. As I thought about my possibilities, my mind was racing. I could attempt to overpower Marnuel, but I was aware of his abilities as a fighter. Although I could try to run upward and phone the police, I wasn't sure if I would succeed in doing so without being caught. Or I could attempt to persuade him to turn himself in by talking a lot of sense into him. Marnuel suddenly charged at me while I was considering my choices; his eyes were entirely dark at this point. He attacked too quickly, despite my efforts to shield myself from him. I felt his extremely cold hands grab my neck as he tackled me to the ground and choked me. Like he had done to so many others before me, my partner was going to murder me. I fought to get away, but Marnuel's hold on me was too tight. I could feel my consciousness fading and my vision becoming blurry. But just as I believed everything had come to an end, a strange thing happened. He fell to the ground, groaning in pain. His skin became black, and I stared in terror as his eyes rolled back into his head. Then it was over in an instant. I was left standing there in the blood, staring at my dead partner's lifeless body on the ground. I hurried outside, got in my car, and started driving. I drove for maybe an hour or so till I came to a little cabin in the woods, all by itself. In an effort to calm my thoughts and make sense of all that had transpired, I rented it for the entire week. I couldn't get rid of the feeling that I was being watched as I settled in. Every sound made me flinch, as the trees seemed to be closing in on me. I made an effort to stay busy by unpacking and settling in, but my thoughts kept returning to the picture of his lifeless body. I couldn't believe the man I loved had done such an evil thing. The fact that I was unsure of what to do next was draining me. I was unable to sleep that night. The cabin's every moan and creak made me sit up, my heart thumping in my chest. Even though I was aware that I couldn't stay there forever, I still found it difficult to leave. Like a fly in a web, I felt entrapped. I heard a knock on the door very early in the morning. With horror rushing through me, I froze. Who might that be? I snuck over to the window and glanced outside, but there was nobody there. The knocking returned, this time louder. A voice said, "Hello?" "Is there anyone there?" The voice belonged to a woman, and it seemed familiar. At first, I had trouble putting it together, but then it dawned on me. Ruth, Marnuel's sister, was here. I paused for a second, caught between the need to flee and the need to speak with someone who might be able to explain everything to me. I ultimately made the choice to open the door. She grabbed my arm, causing me to drop to the ground, and she held my mouth while standing very tall. I came to the conclusion that what I was dealing with was completely out of my control. I had discovered a sinister secret that I was never supposed to know. I made a decision at that very moment. I was prepared to go to any lengths in order to stop Ruth and shield others from her and her brother's wickedness. I inhaled deeply as I prepared for the battle of my life. I charged Ruth while yelling a ferocious battle cry, sending my fists flying. She attacked me with similar vigor, and we started exchanging blows. With each blow, I could feel the pain, but I didn't give up. I was able to strike Ruth one last time, rendering her unconscious. Knowing I had acted morally, I dialed the police and waited for them to show up. Few hours later , I considered the atrocities I had seen while I lay in the hospital getting better from my wounds. I couldn't believe that the person I had loved and trusted had been capable of such evil. But even though I had experienced unspeakable anguish and danger, I knew that the experience had made me stronger. I had overcome my worries, resisted evil, and emerged victorious. And I could never have somebody take that away from me. I didn't learn what had occurred to my partner until much later. While attempting to disintegrate his victims' bodies, he unintentionally spilled some of the rare chemical on himself, where it then interacted with his skin which caused his death .

fiction
Like

About the Creator

Dwriter

Grab your popcorn

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.